New Zealand’s top junior motocross riders will compete again riders from countries as varied as Latvia, Guatamala, The Netherlands and New Caledonia – it’s a real melting pot of nationalities: said Geoff Hall, President of the innovative Taupo Motorcycle Club which is hosting the event.

It is the first time the Junior World Motocross has left European shores and is considered a real coup for Taupo and for New Zealand.

“We are extremely pleased with the standard of riders competing – Glenn Coldenhoff from The Netherlands and Dylan Ferrandis from France finished third in their respective classes in last year’s Junior World Championship,” said Hall.

“The global financial crisis impacted on the ability of some countries to send more than one rider, which is unfortunate.”

“However, it has provided a unique opportunity for some other Kiwi and Australian riders to step up to World Championship level and fill their place.”

Another championship hopeful is Latvian Davis Ivanovs who finished ninth at last year’s Junior World Championship.

“I understand he is travelling here on his own, speaks very little English and can’t drive – he needed assistance getting to the track each day so, with true Kiwi spirit, one of the event sponsors Venture Travel has ‘adopted’ him ,” said Hall.

New Zealand has a proud history of delivering riders at world championship level such as Ben Townley, Josh Coppins, Daryl Hurley, Cody Cooper, Darryl & Shane King and Katherine Prumm.

Entry to the 2009 RoadCraft FIM Junior Motocross World Championship on Saturday 15th August is free for all spectators and tickets are available at the gate on Sunday 16th August for $15 for adults and $10 for a child. Children under 5 are free.

Practice starts at 9am on Saturday and Sunday with the 85cc racing starting at 12.10pm on Sunday – the second 85cc race will be at 2.10pm and the 125cc class will be in action at 1.10pm and 3.10pm.

For further media information, please contact Clare Ponton Ph: 021 228 3721 or (07) 377 0721 or [email protected]

2009 RoadCraft Junior Motocross World Championships

Entry list 85cc:

Dylan Ferrandis

Lars van Berkel

Luke Clout

Dale Fear

Jarred Jeffcoat

Dylan Long

Hayden Mellross

Scott Mann

Joel Dinsdale

Jay Wilson

Jeremy Seewer

Garth Amrein

Courtney Duncan

Aiden Kiff

Campbell King

Micah McGoldrick

Callum Moore

Dion Picard

Dane Russell

Brandon Tipene

Haki Waller

Samuele Bernardini

Michaboy de Waal

Gregory Vernier

Laurent Fath

Hadleigh Knight

Cameron Vaughan

James Anderson

Kieran Bryant

Logan Blackburn

Jacob Kneebone

Joel Johnson

Matthew Morrissey

Matt Kenyon

Jake Stewart

Brayden Stephens

Entry List 125cc:

Glenn Coldenhoff

Davis Ivanovs

Giacomo Del Segato

Jamie Collins

Raiarii Vonbalou

Eli Tomac

Ross Beaton

Josh Cachia

Dylan Peterson

Matthew Phillips

Harley Quinlan

Jason Reed

Tye Simmonds

Luke Styke

Cameron Dillon

Hamish Dobbyn

Matthew Hunt

Kayne Lamont

Jonathan Martelli

Ethan Martens

John Phillips

Mitchell Rees

Kieran Scheele

Craig Smith

Donny Bastemeyer

Mathias Bellino

Josselin Prunaux

Cedric Francois

Estefan Castillo

Isaiah McGoldrick

Sam O’Callaghan

Tom Managh

Nathan Clare

Bjarne Frederikesen

Michael McCarthy

Lance O’Dea

Daniel Parry

Joshua Jack

Laine Cooper

Free Shipping!!! Dismiss


Your Cart