For the first time in over 20 years of Supercross, race fans and the sports best athletes filled MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey on Saturday night. Monster Energy/Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto dominated the premier class to take the win and clinch the 2014 AMA/FIM World championship before heading to Vegas next weekend. GEICO/Honda’s Justin Bogle took the win in New Jersey to take over the points lead in the 250 East Championship.

Ryan Villopoto led the pack into turn one taking the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award, followed by Justin Hill, Mike Alessi, Andrew Short and Jake Weimer. Unfortunately the majority of the front runners got a poor jump out of the gate, starting outside of the top ten. Yoshimura/Suzuki’s James Stewart, both Red Bull/KTM riders; Dungey and Roczen and Muscle Milk/Honda’s Justin Barcia all started outside of the top ten.

Stewart, with the best start of the group, began to work his way up through the pack, making quick work of many riders. Going into lap three, he lost control of his bike, dabbing his foot in a corner and unfortunately tweaking his knee. After attempting to ride out the injury, he found himself unable to complete the next lap before pulling off the track.

Eli Tomac made his way through the top five with a final pass on Josh Hill on his way to his best finish of the year. Going into lap eight, Motoconcept’s Mike Alessi attempted to hold off Dungey, Barcia and Ken Roczen. All three of the riders managed to make the pass on Alessi in the following lap.

Red Bull/KTM’s rookie, Ken Roczen managed to make a clean pass on Muscle Milk/Honda rider Justin Barcia around the halfway mark. But with five laps to go, Bam-Bam Barcia returned the favor, swapping some paint with newfound rival, Ken Roczen.

Barcia continued to push forward making the pass on Red Bull/KTM’s Ryan Dungey with Roczen making his way by, as well.  The two passes managed to put Dungey out of his mental zone, forcing him to miss the triple and go down with only four laps to go.

Monster Energy/Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto rode flawlessly and lead the entire moto to take home his fortieth career win and his fourth straight Monster Energy AMA Supercross title. Villopoto stands to be only the second rider in history, next to Jeremy McGrath, to win four straight AMA Supercross/FIM World Championship titles in 40 years of Supercross.

Eli Tomac took home second place, while Josh Hill took the final podium position in the premier class.

In the 250SX class Jimmy Decotis led the pack into turn on his Riverside Harley Davidson backed Honda. The seventeen year-old rookie, Matt Biscgelia managed to come out of turn one just behind Decotis, followed by Vince Friese. All three of these riders had the best starts of their careers in East Rutherford, with none of them ever finishing on the podium.

Matt Biscgelia worked quickly to close the gap on Decotis. Going into lap four, Biscgelia managed to get a wheel in on Decotis to make the pass for the lead. Unfortunately, Decotis got a little too excited to make the pass back on Biscgelia and tucked the front end after making contact with his rear tire. After going down, Decotis dropped back to tenth.

Jeremy Martin worked to close the gap on Friese and managed to make the pass, putting himself into third.

After making his way by the Martin brothers and Friese, Bogle looked to close the gap on Biscgelia. Bogle managed to close in on the rookie and make a clean pass to move himself into the lead around the halfway point. After taking over the lead from Biscgelia, Bogle began to pull away, putting some ground between him and the rest of the pack.

Closing in on the final laps of the race, Biscgelia stalled his bike, letting Jeremy Martin and Friese by and dropping back to fifth.

After working his way through the top five, Bogle took home the win in East Rutherford. Bogle also took over the points lead in the absence of points leader, Martin Davalos. Davalos was unable to carry the red plate to East Rutherford after sustaining an unfortunate ankle injury while testing last week. Davalos has undergone surgery to repair to his broken ankle but unfortunately will be unable to finish out the series. With Davalos, Cianciarulo and Blake Baggett all on the injured list, the Monste Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki 250 team was absent from East Rutherford.

Jeremy Martim held onto second to claim the second step on the podium and the best finish of his career. Factory Metal Works rider, Vince Friese held out to round out the podium and celebrate the best finish of his career.

Next weekend the series heads to Las Vegas for final round of AMA Supercross 2014. Both 250 classes will race their final rounds with the top finishers heading to the East/West Shootout at the end of the night.


  1. Justin Bogle
  2. Jeremy Martin
  3. Vince Friese
  4. Matt Bisceglia
  5. Matthew Lemione
  6. Kyle Cunningham
  7. Alex Martin
  8. Mitchell Oldenburg
  9. Jimmy Decotis
  10. Jackson Richardson


  1. Ryan Villopoto
  2. Eli Tomac
  3. Josh Hill
  4. Justin Barcia
  5. Ken Roczen
  6. Ryan Dungey
  7. Mike Alessi
  8. Andrew Short
  9. Trey Canard
  10. Weston Peick


  1. Justin Bogle (166)
  2. Martin Davalos (149)
  3. Adam Cianciarulo (120)
  4. Blake Baggett (120)
  5. Vince Friese (120)
  6. Kyle Cunningham (109)
  7. Matthew Lemoine (90)
  8. Jimmy Decotis (90)
  9. Cole Thompson (89)
  10. Alex Martin (86)


  1. Ryan Villopoto (343)
  2. Ryan Dungey (282)
  3. James Stewarty (271)
  4. Ken Roczen (265)
  5. Justin Barcia (232)
  6. Andrew Short (207)
  7. Justin Brayton (196)
  8. Josh Hill (144)
  9. Broc Tickle (126)
  10. Wil Hahn (122)


  1. Jason Anderson (178)
  2. Cole Seely (170)
  3. Justin Hill (139)
  4. Dean Wilson (138)
  5. Cooper Webb (121)
  6. Malcolm Stewart (121)
  7. Jessy Nelson (103)
  8. Zach Osborne (100)
  9. Shane McElrath (96)
  10. Jake Canada (72)

Your Cart