Marvin Musquin wins MX2 World Motocross title by winning both motos in Brazilian finale. Clement Desalle wins final MX1 GP

MX1 Results
1. Clement Desalle 1/2 HON
2. Steve Ramon 7/1 SUZ
3. Max Nagl 2/5 KTM
4. Josh Coppins 5/3 YAM
5. K d Dycker 4/4 SUZ
6. D Philippaerts 3/7 YAM
7. C Campano 11/6 YAM
8. G Swanepoel 9/9 KAW
9. Tony Cairoli 6/12 YAM
10. Antonio Balbi 10/11 HON
11. Julien Bill APR
12. Tom Church CCM
13. D Vuillemin KAW
14. T Leok YAM
15. W Garcia HON
MX1 Points

Antonio Cairoli 561
Max Nagl 525
Clem Desalle 508
D Philippaerts 497
K de Dycker 495
Josh Coppins 485
Tanel Leok 395
G Swanepoel 262
J Barragan 229
Steve Ramon 217
M Priem 195
A Leok 188
D Vuillemin 163
G Aranda 143
Tom Church 134
MX2 Results
1. Marvin Musquin 1/1 KTM
2. Ken Roczen 2/2 SUZ
3. S Frossard 4/3 KAW
4. R Goncalves 5/5 KTM
5. V Teillet 3/9 KTM
6. D Guarneri YAM
7. J Roelants KTM
8. J Nicholls KTM
9. Shaun Simpson KTM
10. M Monni YAM
11. C Soubeyras HON
12. G Paulin KAW
13. L Larrieu YAM
14. S Zanoni HON
15. M Maddii SUZ
MX2 Points

Marvin Musquin 540
R Goncalves 500
Gautier Paulin 437
D Guarneri 418
Ken Roczen 390
S Frossard 332
Joel Roelants 311
M Monni 284
Nic Aubin 256
X Boog 253
J v Horebeek 227
V Teillet 182
L Larrieu 172
M Schiffer 172
D Verbruggen 170

Canelinha, Brazil

It was final Grand Prix of the year, as the series made it’s way back to Brazil after a ten year absence.

In MX1, Antonio Cairoli had already clinched the 2009 World MX1 Motocross Title. But there was still plenty of action in MX1, as only 14 points separated 3rd place Philippaerts to 6th place Coppins, with Desalle and de Dycker in between, before this weekend!

As you can see, Belgian sensation Clement Desalle won the MX1 Grand Prix. This young rider has come on strong in the second half of the season, and will be riding for the Teka Suzuki Team next season, along with former World Motocross Champion Steve Ramon – who finished second overall today in Brazil. Desalle passed 2008 MX1 World Motocross Champion David Philippaerts for third position in the final season standings.

All eyes were really on the MX2 class, as Marvin Musquin from France, and KTM team-mate Rui Goncalves from Portugal would determine who would become the 2009 MX2 World Motocross Championship.

And Musquin won the MX2 World Motocross Championship title today in tremendous fashion – winning both motos! Second overall today, and fifth in the final season standings – teenage sensation from Germany – Ken Roczen.

Congratulations Marvin Musquin – 2009 MX2 World Motocross Champion!

Click here to see some of the FIM riders Profiles, including 2009 Motocross World Champions Tony Cairoli and Marvin Musquin

Interesting note: Mariana Balbi become the first woman to ever qualify to race in an MX1 Grand Prix, and finished 24th! (She’s number 66 below in the photos.)

The next ‘big’ event will be the ‘Team World Motocross Championships’, aka The Motocross of Nations, in Italy, on October 3 and 4.

You can join the Community for free: Upload your own videos! Join the message board, upload photos & more!

You can follow updates on via Twitter

You must have QuickTime to watch this video

Photos & Video News Highlights of the Motocross Grand Prix of Brazil, courtesy Youthstream

Free Shipping!!! Dismiss


Your Cart