Antonio Cairoli wins 2009 MX1 World Motocross Championship Title! Ken De Dycker & Marvin Musquin win Grand Prix events!

MX1 Results
1. K de Dycker 1/1 SUZ
2. Josh Coppins 4/2 YAM
3. Clem Desalle 6/3 HON
4. Tanel Leok 3/6 YAM
5. D Philippaerts 2/8 YAM
6. Tony Cairoli 5/4 YAM
7. Max Nagl 8/5 KTM
8. Steve Ramon SUZ
9. A Leok TM
10. G Swanepoel KAW
11. M Priem APR
12. R v Vijfeijken YAM
13. J Barragan KTM
14. T Potisek HON
15. T Church CCM
MX1 Points

Antonio Cairoli 537
Max Nagl 487
D Philippaerts 463
Clem Desalle 461
K de Dycker 459
Josh Coppins 449
Tanel Leok 382
G Swanepoel 238
J Barragan 229
M Priem 195
A Leok 188
Steve Ramon 178
D Vuillemin 150
G Aranda 143
Tom Church 117
MX2 Results
1. Marvin Musquin 2/1 KTM
2. R Goncalves 1/3 KTM
3. Ken Roczen 4/2 SUZ
4. J Roelants 3/5 KTM
5. Mike Krass KTM
6. D Verbruggen HON
7. C Kromhof KTM
8. J v Horebeek KTM
9. X Boog SUZ
10. M Monni YAM
11. V Teillet KTM
12. N Larsen SUZ
13. S Simpson KTM
14. D Guarneri YAM
15. L Larrieu YAM
MX2 Points

Marvin Musquin 490
R Goncalves 468
Gautier Paulin 422
D Guarneri 387
Ken Roczen 346
S Frossard 294
Joel Roelants 284
M Monni 263
Nic Aubin 256
X Boog 253
J v Horebeek 227
M Schiffer 172
D Verbruggen 170
A Tonus 165
L Larrieu 163

Lierop, Holland

Antonio Cairoli wins 2009 MX1 World Motocross Championship title today, while Ken De Dycker & Marvin Musquin each won their respective Grand Prix events …

MX1 Grand Prix: The Braun Grand Prix of The Netherlands sees Tony Cairoli winning his first ever MX1 World Motocross Championship, despite a damaged left knee.

Ken De Dycker went on to dominate both motos and take the overall, with Josh Coppins and Clement Desalle completing the podium. Max Nagl crashed in heat one and decided to ride safe in heat two to at least build on his second place in the Championship point standings.

Yamaha Red Bull De Carli’s Cairoli wrapped up his third World Championship Title in Lierop despite a left knee issue that made it a tough outing for the Italian. Cairoli rode two brave races, finishing fifth in heat one after a mistake, and fourth in heat two. Once he snatched fourth from Nagl in the final heat, Cairoli had the World Motocross Championship Title under his belt courtesy of a 50 point advantage in the Championship standings, though he tried to move past Desalle as well.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Nagl struggled as he crashed in heat one while he was holding third. The German took eighth eventually, but despite the holeshot in heat two he just rode to build on his runner up spot in the Championship.

Pole man De Dycker dominated both motos by taking two first places. The Teka Suzuki World MX1 man grabbed his second season’s win ahead of Yamaha Monster Energy rider Josh Coppins, who had a dogfight with Desalle to take an eventual second in heat two.

Desalle completed the podium, but several crashes in the opening heat left the LS Motors Honda rider disappointed to have lost valuable Championship points.

Jonathan Barragan, who will be riding for Kawasaki in 2010, was 13th at his comeback race after being out for a long time. Last year’s Lierop winner Marc De Reuver returned to action too, he finished 16th.

Ken De Dycker said: I was having so much fun out there and it really helped me. It was not so easy because the track was so demanding and coming up to lapped riders I really had to concentrate. Sometimes I could look around and saw a lot of people cheering so I was waving to them when I could, it was a really nice experience. This was not a simple GP so I am really pleased with the result.

To read Tony Cairoli’s own words about winning the 2009 World Motocross Championship, you can visit this link

MX2 Grand Prix: The Title quest remains open in the MX2 class even if series points leader Marvin Musquin took today’s overall victory ahead of his main rival in the Championship point chase – Rui Goncalves. Rui was second overall in today’s GP. Ken Roczen completed the podium in third. Gautier Paulin finished 20th (broken engine in heat 1), and lost his chance to fight for the Title in the final round in Brazil.

Goncalves went on to win moto one while Musquin took second. The Frenchman, who went down in the opening lap, was handed second as Joel Roelants crashed as well. The Belgian of the KTM Factory Junior MX2 Team was an eventual third ahead of young gun Roczen.

The latter took the holeshot in moto two, but let Goncalves and Musquin go ahead from lap two. Musquin grabbed the lead and pulled away while Goncalves crashed twice, struggling with a damaged right shoulder. Teka Suzuki Europe World MX2’s Roczen snatched second from a troubled Goncalves and made it to third on the podium.

The 2009 MX2 World Motocross title will be decided in Brazil at the final round between Musquin and Goncalves.

You can join the Community for free:

Upload your own videos! Join the message board, upload photos & more!

You can follow updates on via Twitter

To see some of the FIM riders Profiles, including new Motocross World Champion Tony Cairoli, you can visit this link

You must have QuickTime to watch this video

Photos & Video News Highlights of the Motocross Grand Prix of Holland, courtesy Youthstream and Suzuki


Your Cart