AMA Monster Energy Supercross took the stage Saturday night at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta, Georgia in front of one of the largest crowds of spectators the series has witnessed to date. Nearly 70,000 race fans cheered on Red Bull/KTM rookie, Ken Roczen as he captured his second win of the season in his 12th career start in the 450SX class. In the 250SX class Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s veteran rider, Martin Davalos claimed his first ever career win in his 64th  career start.

Smartop/Motoconcepts, Mike Alessi took the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot Award, leading the pack into turn one followed by Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, Yoshimura/Suzuki’s James Stewart and Red Bull/KTM rider Ken Roczen.

After making his way into second, last week’s back-to-back race winner James Stewart managed to grab a handful front brake sending him over the bars early in lap one. Stewart re-entered the race at the back of the pack and went to work making his way back to the front to earn a few valuable championship points.

Points leader Ryan Villopoto took the inside away on Alessi to take over the lead in lap six. Red Bull/KTM teammates; Ken Roczen and Ryan Dungey, followed Villopoto making the pass on Alessi to move into second and third positions.

In his first ever Supercross campaign in the premier class, GEICO Honda’s rookie Wil Hahn made his way into a respectable fourth place position after making the pass on Alessi in lap ten. Hahn was followed by a three-way battle between Brayton, Peick and Broc Tickle all looking to make the move on Alessi to move into the top five.

Shortly after the halfway point, Stewart had managed to make his way back from last position to thirteenth. As Stewart went to work on the rest of the pack, Brayton managed to make the pass on Alessi in lap ten and Tickle took Peick in lap fourteen.

Roczen stuck to the back tire of Villopoto for the majority of the race but with only five laps to go, Roczen capitalized on Villopoto’s mistake to take over the lead.

Roczen successfully executed the last lap flawlessly to hold off Villopoto and claim his second victory of the season. With a win in Atlanta, Roczen closed up the points chase sitting in second, only nine points behind points leader, Ryan Villopoto.

Villopoto claimed the second podium position, after recovering from his mistakes, to hold onto the points lead and the red plate for next week in Indianapolis.

Ryan Dungey rode a consistent and smooth race to take the final podium spot and close the points gap on Stewart who sits in third.

In 250SX action, last week’s race winner and Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki rider, Adam Cianciarulo led the pack into turn one taking the Nuclear Cowboyz Holeshot award. Shortly behind Cianciarulo, coming out of turn one, was fellow teammate Martin Davalos and Factory Metal Work’s Vince Friese.

Davalos made the pass on rookie and red plate-holder, Cianciarulo early in lap one to take over the lead.

While GEICO/Honda’s Blake Wharton closed the gap on Friese, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Blake Wharton and Rockstar Racing KTM rider Cole Thompson went to work on making their way back through the pack from a bad start.

Medic flags slowed the race when Rodriguez and Biscgelia, two riders with outstanding amateur careers both in their pro debut year, got tangled up and were unable to finish the race.

With six laps to go, Baggett gave his Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki everything it had to jump by Friese and Wentland to take over fifth.

In his 64th career start, Martin Davalos gapped the pack to walk away from Atlanta with his first ever career victory.

Seventeen year-old rookie, Adam Cianciarulo claimed the second podium position to hold on to the red plate and points lead heading into next week at Indianapolis.

GEICO/Honda’s Justin Bogle claimed the third podium position with a consistent ride after returning to the series earlier than expected from injury.

With his best main event finish of the year, Mike Alessi was levied a $4000 fine and a suspension for the remainder of the season for his attempted pass on Broc Tickle. Unfortunately, Alessi was just beginning to see a turn-around in his recently mediocre career results, however, hopefully some time off will get him back to pace for Motocross season.

Muscle Milk Honda’s Justin Barcia was unable to participate in the main after two crashes earlier in the night but we will hope to see him back next week in Indianapolis.

Next week we will also see Dean Wilson riding in place of the injured Chad Reed for the Discount Tire/Twotwo Motorsports Team.

For the first time in the history of the sport we have witnessed four different riders claim two victories each in eight rounds. Who will claim their third victory in Indianapolis? Or is Ryan Dungey due for his first win of the season?

As the points chase continues to tighten each round promises to bring excitement for race fans as these athletes compete to find out who can conquer all the odds to claim the 2014 Supercross Championship.


  1. Martin Davalos
  2. Adam Cianciarulo
  3. Justin Bogle
  4. Blake Wharton
  5. Blake Baggett
  6. Vince Friese
  7. Jimmy Decotis
  8. Cole Thompson
  9. Mathew Lemoine
  10. Mitchell Oldenburg


  1. Ken Roczen
  2. Ryan Villopoto
  3. Ryan Dungey
  4. Wil Hahn
  5. Justin Brayton
  6. Mike Alessi
  7. Broc Tickle
  8. Weston Peick
  9. Josh Grant
  10. Andrew Short


  1. Adam Cianciarulo (47)
  2. Martin Davalos (45)
  3. Blake Baggett (38)
  4. Justin Bogle (36)
  5. Vince Friese (33)
  6. Blake Wharton (32)
  7. Cole Thompson (28)
  8. Mitchell Oldenburg (22)
  9. Kyle Cunnigham (22)
  10. Jimmy Decotis (20)



  1. Ryan Villopoto (166)
  2. Ken Roczen (157)
  3. James Stewart (140)
  4. Ryan Dungey (136)
  5. Justin Brayton (130)
  6. Chad Reed (111)
  7. Justin Barcia (109)
  8. Andrew Short (94)
  9. Wil Hahn (83)
  10. Broc Tickle (77)

Your Cart