As tornado warnings and rain storms swept across North America over this past weekend, the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championships took over Indiana Raceway in Crawfordsville, Indiana for Round Eleven of the series. The rain and mud made for some tough track conditions at the brand new venue, but, the infields continued to fill with race fans, as the racers battled on track for vision and survival.

In Moto one it was Ken Roczen who took the holeshot award, followed by privateer rider, Mitch Oldenburg and Trey Canard. Championship contender, Ryan Dungey had some troubles out of the gate, going off the track and barely managing a top ten start.

As Dungey went to work on making his way through the pack, Canard managed to get by privateer rider, Mitch Oldenburg, putting his Muscle Milk Honda into second position.

Just short of the halfway point, Mitch Oldenburg went down in the deep mud. He was able to remount and rejoin the Moto in seventh position. As Dungey made his way into third position, the number forty-one of Trey Canard also went down. By the time Dungey had made his way into second position, series points leader, Ken Roczen had already logged a twenty-seven second lead.

With four minutes left, Eli Tomac was able to complete the pass on Brett Metcalfe, to put his GEICO/Honda into fourth position.

Ken Roczen took the first Moto one win with a thirty-eight second lead over teammate Ryan Dungey. Dungey was able to hold onto second position, after making his way through the pack. Trey Canard was able to minimize the damage if his mid Moto crash, taking third in Moto one.

In Moto two, Trey Canard and Ken Roczen led the pack into turn one. As Canard and Roczen set to battle over the lead, Dungey was stuck working his way back through the pack from just outside the top ten, once again.

As the Moto pressed on, Dungey continued to struggle, seemingly making his way backwards. The twenty-two of Chad Reed was the rider who was able to make the passes, making his way from tenth to sixth.

After making a small mistake with ten minutes remaining on the clock, Ryan Sipes managed to hold onto third position.

Trey Canard managed to hold on to the lead after capturing the holeshot, taking his second win of the season. Roczen was unable to get by Canard, but still managed to take the overall for the weekend. Fill-in rider, Ryan Sipes was able to minimize the damage of his mid-Moto crash and still put his bike up on the final step of the podium.

Ryan Dungey struggled in Moto two, barely managing a ninth place finish. His 2-9 was good enough to earn him third overall for the day, but allowed Roczen to extend his points lead to twenty points, with only one round to go.

In the 250 class, it was the number fifty of Jessy Nelson who captured the holeshot award. Championship contender, Jeremy Martin followed Nelson into turn one. As Nelson looked to pull away on Martin, championship contender, Blake Baggett went down early in the Moto.

The day looked promising for Jeremy Martin, as Blake Baggett continued to experience issue after issue. As the Moto pressed on Baggett was only able to make his way back to fourteenth, allowing Jeremy Martin to clinch his first ever championship title.

Marvin Musquin was able to capitalize on the muddy track conditions to take third in Moto one. Jeremy Martin did not press the issue for the lead, and stayed clean to take second in Moto one. Jessy Nelson was able to hold out in the mud to claim his first ever motocross Moto win.

In Moto two, it was Jessy Nelson who captured the Holeshot award, once again. Joey Savatgy looked to put the pressure on Nelson, early in Moto two.

In Moto two, Blake Baggett found himself outside the top ten, once again, trying to fight his way back through the pack.

It was a battle of the Frenchman in the three and four positions, as Musquin and Pourcel swapped the number three position back and forth.

Just before the halfway point, Joey Savatagy was able to get by Nelson, as he went down for a quick second. As Savatgy and Nelson exchange mistakes and passes, battling it out for the lead, Musquin was able to close in on the battle. Pourcel was able to move in on the battle, following Musquin by Nelson, pushing Nelson back to third position.

With thirteen minutes left on the clock, the battle for the lead closed to a three-way battle between Savatgy, Nelson and Musquin.  Musquin was able to get by Nelson, followed by Pourcel, pushing Nelson back to fourth.

As the clock began to tick down, the Frenchmen went to work chasing down Joey Savatgy. Musquin was able to maneuver his way around the forty-three of Joey Savatgy.

Pourcel was able to make the pass on Savatgy, pushing Savatgy back to third. Pourcel unable to make the pass on Musquin, claimed secon position in Moto two. Musquin fought through the mud to claim the top step of the podium in Moto two.

Musquin’s 3-1 was good enough to earn him the overall at the brand new venue, in Crawfordsville, Indiana. Joey Savatgy’s 4-3 earned him second overall, while Jessy Nelson earned himself the final step of the podium with a 1-8 finish.

Next week the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross series will head to Tooele, Utah for the final round of the series. With Jeremy Martin crowned as the 2014 250 Champion, the spotlight on Ken Roczen and Ryan Dungey as the teammates battle it out for the premier class championship.

1. Ken Roczen (1-2)
2. Trey Canard (3-1)
3. Ryan Dungey (2-9)
4. Ryan Sipes (10-3)
5. Andrew Short (8-4)
6. Chad Reed (7-6)
7. Eli Tomac (4-10)
8. Josh Grant (12-5)
9. Fredrik Noren (9-8)
10. Matt Goerke (6-11)

1. Ken Roczen – 494
2. Ryan Dungey – 474
3. Trey Canard – 418
4. Brett Metcalfe – 304
5. Eli Tomac – 281
6. Andrew Short – 278
7. Weston Peick – 268
8. Josh Grant – 243
9. James Stewart – 226
10. Chad Reed – 185

1. Marvin Musquin (3-1)
2. Joey Savatgy (4-3)
3. Jessy Nelson (1-8)
4. Christophe Pourcel (9-2)
5. Cooper Webb (6-5)
6. Dean Wilson (8-6)
7. Alex Martin (7-7)
8. Jeremy Martin (2-15)
9. Jason Anderson (5-10)
10. Blake Baggett (14-4)

1. Jeremy Martin – 450
2. Blake Baggett – 381
3. Cooper Webb – 379
4. Marvin Musquin – 374
5. Christophe Pourcel – 355
6. Justin Bogle – 331
7. Jason Anderson – 270
8. Cole Seely – 244
9. Jessy Nelson – 238
10. Dean Wilson – 204


Your Cart