First, from MX Sports: Reynard, Bisceglia, Bailey and Others Continue Win Streaks at Loretta Lynn’s

National championships are beginning to take form as day two of racing at the 2012 Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship presented by Amsoil has concluded at Loretta Lynn Ranch. The first set of motos has fully concluded and the introduction to the second round began Wednesday afternoon. So far, several riders have slated dual class-victories, thus becoming one step closer to becoming a National Champion.

Highlights from the top of the results board so far include Texas native Matt Bisceglia, who currently has two wins in the 450 B Stock class, in addition to a second place finish in the ultra-competitive 250 B Mod class. Orlando, Florida’s Jordan Bailey secured his second straight win in the 85 (9-11) Modified class, while Oklahoma’s Robbie Reynard has gone two for two in the Vet 35+ class so far. Other riders with an undefeated score thus far include California riders Justin Hoeft in Mini Sr. (12-14) Mod and Conner Mullennix in the 65 (10-11) Stock class. Scappoose, Oregon’s Cody Herzog has swept the 450 C class so far, as well as Utah’s Pierce Brown in the 65 (7-9) Stock.

As always, some of the best racing and biggest names of amateur motocross exist in the B class. Cairo, Georgia’s Anthony Rodriquez has been the one to beat so far in the Modified side of competition, as the Yamaha rider has taken the Moto 1 win in both the 250 B and 450 B Mod classes. After two motos in the books, it’s Newport, North Carolina’s Cooper Webb leading the 250 B Stock class overall after splitting race-wins with fellow North Carolina native Shane Mcelrath, who had a breakthrough victory in Moto 1 of the star-studded 250 B Stock class. Although Webb’s 2-1 moto score outweighs Mcelrath’s 1-2 score for the 250 B class lead, Mcelrath proved he was no fluke with a stellar follow-up performance in 450 B Mod, finishing a close second behind Rodriquez.

Wednesday morning kicked off day one of 51cc racing with all three 51 divisions racing back-to-back in order to provide the young riders a safe and manageable racetrack. Reigning 51 (4-6) AMA 1 Stock class champion Ryder Difrancesco highlighted the 51cc hour as he took the Moto 1 win aboard his number-one-plated Cobra machine. In the 51 (7-8) AMA 2 Stock class, the highly favored Gage Linville was well on his way to grabbing the Moto 1 win until a crash on the final lap took away his lead position in the (7-8) division, ultimately allowing Michigan’s Jaiden Taylor to claim the Moto 1 victory instead. Linville also sits fourth overall in the 65 (7-9) Stock class with a 14-4 score and one moto to go.

Just after the 51cc classes went to battle on the iconic Loretta Lynn’s racetrack, attention turned to the opposite end of the spectrum as former Loretta Lynn’s graduates and current American Motocross stars Ryan Villopoto and Blake Baggett took the track to demo Kawasaki’s 2013 model line, Villopoto’s first public riding appearance since a knee injury kept him away from racing this season. Later in the afternoon, two more former Loretta’s graduates and American Motocross Stars-Malcolm Stewart and Mike Brown-hit the track to demo KTM’s 2013 model line in front of a large crowd at the ranch.

Brandy Richards, of Lake Havasu City, Arizona, continues to make her mark by grabbing the Moto 1 win in the Women’s (14+) class in a talented field of riders. In addition to her first win in the Women’s class, Richards led most of the Girls (9-11) race on Tuesday, ultimately finishing second to Hannah Hodges.

Second, from Kawasaki: Monster Energy Kawasaki Team Green Scores 17 Podiums Wednesday at Loretta Lynn’s

Monster Energy Kawasaki Team Green kicked off the second day of competition at the AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship at Loretta Lynn’s Dude Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn., with four moto wins. Team Green’s Brandy Richards started the day on the right foot by grabbing the first moto win in the Women 14+ class, which was followed by Adam Cianciarulo’s win in the Supermini 2 class. Carson Mumford rode to the win in 65 (7-11) Mod class, while Mike Treadwell dominated the Senior 40+ class. Strong finishes continued throughout the day as Kawasaki riders moved into the second motos. In total Team Green riders captured 17 podium finishes throughout a great day of racing.


2012 Loretta Lynn’s AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship

Hurricane Mills, Tenn.

August 1, 2012

First-Place Finishes

Brandy Richards – Women 14+

Adam Cianciarulo – Supermini 2 (13-16)

Carson Mumford – 65 (7-11) Mod

Mike Treadwell – Senior 40+

Second-Place Finishes

Dillan Epstein – 250 A

Ryan Robles – 450 C

Mike Treadwell – Vet 35+

John Grewe – Senior 40+

Garrett Marchbanks – 85 (9-11) Mod

Austin Forkner – Mini Sr. (12-14) Mod

Mark Worth – Supermini 2 (13-16)

Third-Place Finishes

Nick Gaines – 250 B Stock

Clark Stiles – Vet 35+

Carter Halpain – 85 (9-11) Mod

Tommy Maxey – Mini Sr. (12-14) Mod

Thomas Covington – Schoolboy 2 (13-16) B/C

Carson Mumford – 65 (10-11) Stock


Loretta's Amateur National Motocross 2012, Wednesday, by MX Sports and Kawasaki - Photo 1 of 2

Loretta's Amateur National Motocross 2012, Wednesday, by MX Sports and Kawasaki - Photo 2 of 2

Free Shipping!!! Dismiss


Your Cart