First, from MX Sports: Final Day of Racing Concludes at Loretta Lynn’s Ranch

Racing has come to a close after five consecutive days of amateur motocross at the historic Loretta Lynn Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn. Over the course of two days, 36 National Champions were crowned in the 31st running of the 2012 Red Bull AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship presented by Amsoil.

The final moto of the 450 A division proved to be the highlight of Saturday’s racing, but this time the excitement didn’t exactly come from the Moto 3 first place battle. Minnesota natives Zack Williams and Jesse Wentland put on quite a show as they battled back and forth for the second place position, but more importantly the championship title was on the line to whichever rider could secure that spot. By Moto 3 Joey Savatgy was a definite standout, winning two of the three motos. However, Savatgy had a ninth place finish in the opening moto that kept him out of the running despite his 9-1-1 moto score. Williams went on to secure the title after ending out Wentland in the final moto, while Savatgy grabbed third overall.

History is in the works for mini superstar Adam Cianciarulo as he added two more Super Mini championships to his collection-thus tying Mike Alessi and James Stewart’s record of eleven total championships at Loretta Lynn’s. Cianciarulo went undefeated both Super Mini 1 and Super Mini 2 to notably end his career on minis.

Loretta's Amateur National Motocross 2012, Saturday, by MX Sports and Kawasaki - Photo 1 of 1

Adam Cianciarulo is in there somewhere!

The new addition of the Two-Stroke (16+) class was a big hit in its first year at Loretta’s. Perhaps the most interesting aspect of the class is the diversity of age amongst the front-runners-ranging from 17-year-old Ty Siminoe to 32-year-old class champion Mike Sleeter-it was one of the deepest fields of talent behind the starting gate. Tennessee’s Sean Cunningham rounded out the podium with a 4-6-5 moto score.

California’s Doug Dubach acquired his ninth National title this week after taking home four of the six motos he entered. Dubach first secured the Senior 45+ championship over Michigan’s John Grewe and Florida’s Earl May. Dubach then wrapped up the Senior 40+ title with a 3-1-1 moto score. Connecticut’s Michael Treadwell came out strong with a win in the opening moto, ultimately finishing up with second overall. Off-road star Destry Abbott put in a solid 4-2-3 score to give him third overall in a competitive 40+ division.

Saturday evening hosted the 2012 Loretta Lynn’s Awards Ceremonies where the top 10 riders from each of the 36 classes received top honors in front of friends, family and industry folks inside the Amsoil Arena. This year’s recipient of the coveted AMA Horizon Award, presented to the rider showing the most promise for a professional career, was 250 A champion Zach Bell who plans to begin his professional career next weekend at the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship. Adam Cianciarulo received the AMA Youth award; while Robbie Reynard took home AMA’s top Vet honors. California posted the most champions this year with 11 total, giving them the 2012 State Champion Award.

Congratulations to all 2012 National Champions!

  • 250 C Mod – Garrett Schnepp – American Canyon, CA
  • Vet 35+ – Robbie Reynard – Oklahoma City, OK
  • Mini Sr (12-14) Mod – Justin Hoeft – Castaic, CA
  • 250 B Stock – Cooper Webb – Newport, NC
  • 85 (9-11) Modified – Jordan Bailey – Orlando, FL
  • 250 A – Zach Bell – Cairo, Georgia
  • 51 (7-8) AMA 2 Stock – Jaiden Taylor – Lansing, MI
  • 51 (4-6) AMA 1 Stock – Ryder Difranceso – Bakersfield, CA
  • 51 (4-6) Stock Limited – Codee Samples – Maypearl, TX
  • 51 (4-6) Shaft Drive Stock – Braxton Brown – Lowell, OH
  • 450 C – Cody Herzog – Scappoose, OR
  • 65 (10-11) Stock – Conner Mullenix – Santee, CA
  • 450 B Stock – Matt Bisceglia – Weatherford, TX
  • 65 (7-9) Stock – Pierce Brown – Sandy, UT
  • Super Mini 1 (12-15) – Adam Cianciarulo – Port Orange, FL
  • Open Pro Sport – Jesse Wentland – Elk River, MN
  • Schoolboy 1 (12-16) B/C – Jordan Smith – Belmont, NC
  • College B/C (16-24) – Gregory Gehrer – Wichita, KS
  • Senior 45+ – Doug Dubach – Tustin, CA
  • Masters 50+ – Gary Semics – Salem, OR
  • 85 (9-11) Stock – Jordan Bailey – Orlando, FL
  • Girls (12-15) – Brandy Richards – Lake Havasu City, AZ
  • Girls (9-11) – Jazzmyn Canfield – Deltona, FL
  • Junior 25+ – Ricky Carmichael – Havana, FL
  • 250 C Stock – Axell Hodges – Encinitas, CA
  • 250 B Mod – Matt Bisceglia – Weatherford, TX
  • Mini Sr. (12-14) Stock – Justin Hoeft – Castaic, CA
  • Vet B/C 30+ – Dustin Walker – Lexington, KY
  • Women (14+) – Taylor Higgins – Mesquite, TX
  • 450 B Mod – Anthony Rodriguez – Cairo, GA
  • 450 A – Zach Williams – Elko, MN
  • Super Mini 2 (13-16) – Adam Cianciarulo – Port Orange, FL
  • 65 (7-11) Mod – Carson Mumford – Simi Valley, CA
  • Senior 40+ – Doug Dubach – Tustin, CA
  • Two-Stroke (16+) – Mike Sleeter – Murrieta, CA
  • Schoolboy 2 (13-16) B/C – Troy Graffunder – Wheatland, CA

And from Monster Energy Kawasaki Team Green: Mumford and Cianciarulo Win Championships Saturday at Loretta Lynn’s

On the final day at Loretta Lynn’s Dude Ranch in Hurricane Mills, Tenn., Monster Energy Kawasaki Team Green took home three more national championships and a total of nine podiums on the day. Monster Energy Kawasaki Team Green’s Adam Cianciarulo was awarded his 11th national championship after a flawless week at the 2012 AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship. Teammate Carson Mumford achieved his first national championship in the 65 (7-11) Mod class, which Kawasaki has not achieved since 2008, and Kawasaki rider Dustin Walker won the Vet B/C 30+.

Finishing Out On Top: As the racing came to a close Saturday, Team Green was on the podium all day. In addition to Cianciarulo and Mumford being crowned champions, Brandy Richards and Thomas Convington won their final motos in the Women (14+) and Schoolboy 1 (13-16) classes, respectively. Destry Abbott and Mike Treadwell finished second and third in the Senior 40+ class, and Dylan Cox finished third in the Two-Stroke class on a KX(TM)250. In order to reap the benefits of the modern KX(TM) models, Cox modified a KX(TM)250F chassis to accommodate the two-stroke motor from a KX250 and competed in the first Two-Stroke class at Loretta Lynn’s.

Transitions: With Loretta’s complete, many of the Team Green riders are making the jump up to a new class. Transitioning to a bigger KX are Mumford and Stilez Robertson who will be jumping up to the KX(TM)85, and Mark Worth and Cianciarulo who will begin riding the KX250F. Meanwhile, Thomas Covington and Nick Gaines completed their last race as B riders and will now move up to the A class.

Results – 2012 Loretta Lynn’s AMA Amateur National Motocross Championship – Hurricane Mills, Tenn. – August 4, 2012


Adam Cianciarulo – Supermini 2 (13-16)

Carson Mumford – 65 (7-11) Mod

Dustin Walker – Vet B/C 30+

Second-Place Finishes

Ryan Tow – Vet B/C 30+

Mark Worth – Supermini 2 (13-16)

Mike Treadwell – Senior 40+

Third-Place Finishes

Kevin Smith – Vet B/C 30+

Destry Abbott – Senior 40+

Thomas Covington – Schoolboy 2 (13-16)


Free Shipping!!! Dismiss


Your Cart