Olympic Stadium, Montréal, Canada, September 20, 2008

Close to 45,000 fans witnessed Jean-Sébastien Roy’s victory over Michael Willard from Ohio in the MX1 class grand finale Saturday night at the Montréal Supercross. JSR led all 15 laps with his Yamaha to capture his fifth Montréal Supercross win by a little more than four seconds. The evening did not start on a good note for the Acton Vale, Québec rider as he did not secure a place for the final race of the evening with a 13th place finish in his heat race, won by Michigan rider Jacob Marsack. However, in the last-chance heat race, Roy easily won to sneak into the finale. The other heat winner was Ohio rider Jeff Gibson.

Tampa, Florida rider Jason Thomas finished third in the finale behind Roy and Willard. Colton Faciotti of Aldergrove, BC finished fourth, followed by Gibson. Other Quebecers to fare well in the final race of the evening were Simon Homans from Sherbrooke who finished 6th overall and Marc-André Généreux, from Saint-Césaire, 12th.

The evening festivities began with a-three lap KTM motocross race for young Canadian riders aged 7 and 8. A pile up involving all the riders except the leader in turn two at the start of the race gave race leader Sam Alexander Gaynor from Erin, Ontario a huge lead which he held until the checkered flag. After the KTM podium ceremonies, and following the MX1 qualifying heat races, the organizers of the 31st edition of the Montréal Supercross paid a special tribute to Roy, the five-time Canadian Motocross Champion.

In the MX2 Class, Tyler Medaglia from Kemptville, Ontario easily won ahead of Yamaha rider Simon Homans from Sherbrooke and KTM rider Tim Tremblay for Saint-Jeanne d’Arc. In the ATV finale, American Pat Brown took the win ahead of Greg Gee from Simcoe, Ontario, and Harold Goodman from Michigan. Richard Pelchat of Saint-Romuald led the Quebec riders with a fourth place while Jasmin Plante finished sixth and Michael Ouellette of Tingwick was eight overall.

The freestyle competition was a Thomas Pagès affair. The French ace was in a class of his own in the finale against American flyer “Mad” Mike Jones as the crowd cheered him to an overwhelming win. In the Autocross class, Daniel Gagné from Asbestos, Québec won his seventh Montréal Supercross finale.

Results MX1 Main Event:

1. J. S. Roy

2. Michael Willard

3. Jason Thomas

4. Colton Facciotti

5. Jeff Gibson

6. Simon Homans

7. Tyler Bright

8. Daniel Blair

9. Ryan Clark

10. Jacob Marsack


Jean-Sebastien Roy wins Montreal Supercross - Photo 1 of 2

Jean-Sebastien Roy wins Montreal Supercross - Photo 2 of 2

Jean Sebastien Roy




Courtesy videotron.ca








Free Shipping!!! Dismiss


Your Cart