Jon Barragan scores MX1 Grand Prix Motocross victory in ‘home town’! In MX2, surprise winner Jeremy van Horebeek from Belgium win a convincing win! Marvin Musquin moves into MX2 points lead!

MX1 Results
1. J Barragan 1/4 KTM
2. D Philippaerts 3/3 YAM
3. A Cairoli 8/1 YAM
4. Max Nagl 7/2 KTM
5. Clem Desalle 2/7 HON
6. Josh Coppins 4/8 YAM
7. D Vuillemin 5/9 KAW
8. B Mackenzie HON
9. G Swanepoel KAW
10. Tanel Leok YAM
11. Aigar Leok TM
12. K de Dycker SUZ
13. G Aranda KAW
14. Tom Church CCM
15. M Priem APR
MX1 Point Standings

Antonio Cairoli 231
J Barragan 195
K de Dycker 183
Josh Coppins 175
D Philippaerts 174
Tanel Leok 162
Clem Desalle 162
Max Nagl 155
D Vuillemin 101
Steve Ramon 100
G Swanepoel 92
A Leok 85
K Strijbos 82
B Mackenzie 68
G Aranda 50
MX2 Results
1. J v Horebeek 2/3 KTM
2. Rui Goncalves 1/5 KTM
3. A Boissiere 7/1 KTM
4. Ken Roczen 6/2 SUZ
5. Xavier Boog 3/8 SUZ
6. D Guarneri YAM
7. S Frossard KAW
8. Nic Aubin YAM
9. M Schiffer KTM
10. M Monni YAM
11. M Musquin HON
12. J Nicholls KTM
13. A Tonus KTM
14. K Vongsana HON
15. Gautier Paulin 16/16 KAW
MX2 Point Standings

Marvin Musquin 184
Gautier Paulin 181
Davide Guarneri 179
R Goncalves 166
X Boog 141
S Frossard 136
Nic Aubin 126
Zach Osborne 100
S Simpson 97
J v Horebeek 89
M Schiffer 89
M Monni 87
A Tonus 83
L Larrieu 70
J Roelants 69

Bellpuig circuit

Spanish rider Jonathan Barragan, riding for KTM, did not disappoint his home town fans today, winning the MX1 Grand Prix of Spain. And defending World Motocross Champion David Philippaerts put in a great ride, finishing second overall, even though he’s racing with a broken index finger. Antonio Cairoli maintains his series points lead, as he finished third overall today. He leads Barragan by 36 points. Series challenger Ken de Dycker had an off day, with finishes of DNF/6.

In MX2, it was a topsy-turvy day for the main players. Belgium KTM rider Jeremy van Horebeek won the overall, with Rui Goncalves second. But at the top of the points standings, Gautier Paulin had a rough day, with two 16th place finishes. That allowed Marvin Musquin to now take over the points lead! Musquin now leads Paulin by threee points, with Guarneri and Goncalves closing the gap! Note: American Zach Osborne has not scored any points in the last four motos.

Today was Jeremy’s first ever Grand Prix motocross win! Jeremy said “I am just so happy to get the win today. The KTM Factory Junior Team have done a great job and we made some changes to the engine on my bike which suits my riding style much better and now I feel really comfortable on the bike. I had a great start to the season with a podium in Faenza but then I had to miss the Turkish GP with a shoulder injury. I tried to make up for the lost time on the bike by increasing my physical training and my good base in the winter has helped me prove today that I have the speed and ability to win GP’s. I am just going to take each race one at a time and do my best to get back on the podium again.”

Images: The MX1 / 450 class podium with Philippaerts, Barragan, and Cairoli from left to right, MX1 Motocross Grand Prix of Spain winner Jonathan Barragan, Antonio Cairoli, Rui Goncalves, MX2 podium including Jeremy van Horebeek, MX2 winner Jeremy van Horebeek airborne, MX1 start, MX2 start, MX2 Grand Prix Motocross winner Jeremy van Horebeek. Courtesy Youthstream, Synergy, CDS.

Video News Highlights of the Motocross Grand Prix of Spain, courtesy Youthstream

You must have QuickTime to watch this video


Your Cart