DOUBLE PODIUM FOR ROCKSTAR TEKA SUZUKI MX1 IN SWEDEN - Photo 1 of 1Rockstar Teka Suzuki World MX1 again filled two spaces on an FIM MX1 Motocross World Championship podium as Clement Desalle and Steve Ramon sprayed celebratory champagne for the second race in a row and for the second time in a week.

The two factory RM-Z450WS machines sat on either side of the Grand Prix of Sweden rostrum as Desalle went 2-2 in the two motos for second overall and Ramon scored 4-3 to take the bottom step at Uddevalla.

On a sunny and hot Saturday Desalle captured his third consecutive pole position and therefore had first pick in the gate for Sunday. Ramon was also quick during the qualification heat and secured third spot. Some 22,000 spectators looked on from the rocky hillside in markedly different weather conditions on Sunday as heavy morning rain created a spongier Swedish soil and overcast skies remained in place until early evening.

Desalle picked up his eighth set of silverware of the campaign and was one of the main protagonists of the meeting. A wet first race saw the Belgian jostling briefly with Antonio Cairoli and then pulling away from the threat of David Philippaerts once he had thrown away his goggles. Ramon closed up after an unsteady first lap and gave the Italian heavy pressure in the final stages.

Early leader Desalle – again thanks to the prowess of the RM-Z away from the start gate – was eventually powerless to Cairoli’s speed in the second moto and then had to deal with an eager Evgeny Bobryshev. Ramon was in the thick of the action and the two Suzukis flew in the final two laps as the former World Champion pushed the Belgian champion to the flag. Ramon stretched his run of podiums at Uddevalla to four (2006, ’07, ’08 previously, having missed 2009 through injury).

The Belgian team have now accrued 10 podiums in total. Desalle is a strong second in the World Championship standings, 77 points behind Cairoli but 36 in front of Philippaerts. Ramon is fourth and 16 points from the top three.

Rockstar Teka Suzuki World MX1’s international commitments now lessen with their home Grand Prix (Limburg) at Lommel not appearing on the horizon until the end of July. Two rounds of the German ADAC Masters series and one Belgian Championship meeting (at Tongeren, round three) will undoubtedly keep Ramon and Desalle occupied through the break.

Clement Desalle:

“For sure it is not a bad weekend but I want to win! I rode quite well and did not crash so I am pretty happy. In the first moto I had a problem with my goggles and I thought I had water between the tear-offs but when they were all gone I still couldn’t see properly and lost concentration for a while. Once I threw away the goggles it was better but then I had some small stones in the eyes and had to slow down and think about second. I had a good fight with Antonio in the second moto but he was faster, so we will think ahead to try and beat him in the next GP.”

Steve Ramon:

“It was a positive weekend. In the first moto my start was good but on the first lap I made a mistake and one or two riders past me. It was not easy, the track was slippery and I spent a long time behind Philippaerts trying to overtake. In the second moto it was a similar at the beginning but later on I saw Clement and Bobryshev and I knew I had to pass Bobryshev to make the podium. I really pushed for that. I almost got Clement and had two or three chances but I did not want to make a block-pass and take both of us down. I was looking forward to this GP and this track; that’s four podiums here now and maybe next year another one!”

MX1 Moto1: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:45.425; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki WMX1), +0:04.040; 3. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:06.051; 4. Steve Ramon (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki WMX1), +0:07.916; 5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:30.542; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:32.808; 7. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Honda), +1:00.576; 8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +1:01.791; 9. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:03.015; 10. Anthony Boissiere (FRA, TM), +1:17.633.

MX1 Moto2: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 39:13.172; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki WMX1), +0:02.543; 3. Steve Ramon (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki WMX1), +0:04.460; 4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:12.697; 5. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:13.589; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:23.023; 7. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), +0:32.242; 8. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:50.995; 9. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), +0:53.035; 10. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), +1:01.965.

MX1 Overall result: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 50 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki WMX1), 44 p.; 3. Steve Ramon (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki WMX1), 38 p.; 4. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 34 p.; 5. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 33 p.; 6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 30 p.; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 28 p.; 8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki), 27 p.; 9. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Honda), 23 p.; 10. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 20 p.

MX1 World Championship standings (after 10 of 15 rounds): 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 434 points; 2. Clement Desalle (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki WMX1), 367 p.; 3. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 331 p.; 4. Steve Ramon (BEL, Rockstar Teka Suzuki WMX1), 315 p.; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 306 p.; 6. Xavier Boog (FRA, Kawasaki), 276 p.; 7. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Yamaha), 269 p.; 8. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), 223 p.; 9. Tanel Leok (EST, Honda), 219 p.; 10. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Honda), 196 p.

Free Shipping!!! Dismiss


Your Cart