Burswood Dome, Perth: Woodstock Honda Thor Racing’s Daniel Reardon, won the third round of the Monster Energy Super X tonight, in a very close and epic battle with defending Australasian Supercross Champion, Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Chad Reed.

Reardon took the holeshot and rode consistently quick laps over the 10 lap final to hold off an incredibly fast and determined Reed. The race came right down to the wire, with Reardon besting Reed by just under 0.6 seconds at the finish. Reardon now leads the Open Supercross championship by two points over Reed.

The Perth round saw the debut of an all new Open class final format – the Round Robin, which pits riders against each other in three different, five-lap heat races, in order to progress to a ten lap final. There were nine heat races in total, meaning that every rider raced different competitors in each of their three heat races.

Reardon was ecstatic about his win. “I am so pumped about the win and it was a lot of fun racing tonight. It was a great track and a great venue and I felt really good on the bike.”

Second place Reed also commented on how impressive the venue, track and atmosphere were. “I want to thank the fans for coming out today and I am glad there was some great racing for them to enjoy. It was an awesome track & venue, and congratulations to Dan on a great race.”

The 250cc class, Shift Motul Suzuki’s Matt Moss once again dominated the field in the eight lap final. He leads the point standings as well, with Kyle Cunningham second in points.

The Monster Energy Super X will now make its way to Canberra for the fourth round next Saturday, November 7.

Results Open Super X Quad Challenge final:

  1. Daniel REARDON, Honda, 25
  2. Chad REED, Kawasaki, 22
  3. Jay MARMONT, Yamaha, 20
  4. Cheyne BOYD, Yamaha, 18
  5. Tye SIMMONDS, KTM, 16
  6. Daniel McCOY, 15
  7. Cody MACKIE, Kawasaki, 14
  8. Robbie MARSHALL, Yamaha, 13
  9. Troy CARROL, Kawasaki, 12
  10. Cameron TAYLOR, Suzuki, 11

Results Lites Double Header Final:

  1. Matt MOSS, Suzuki, 25
  2. Lawson BOPPING, Suzuki, 22
  3. Kyle CUNNINGHAM, Yamaha, 20
  4. Wade THOMPSON, Honda, 18
  5. Adam MONEA, Suzuki, 16

OPEN Supercross Championship point standings:

  1. Dan REARDON, Honda, 69
  2. Chad REED, Monster Energy Kawasaki, 67
  3. Jay MARMONT, Yamaha, 63
  4. Tye SIMMONDS, KTM, 52
  5. Cheyne BOYD, Yamaha, 48

250cc Lites Championship point standings:

  1. Matt MOSS, Suzuki, 75
  2. Kyle CUNNINGHAM, Yamaha, 60
  3. Lawson BOPPING, Suzuki, 58
  4. Ryan MARMONT, Yamaha, 53
  5. Adam MONEA, Suzuki, 44

For ALL the info, latest news, point standings, Ticket info and more on the Australasian Supercross Series, visit http://www.superx.com.au !

Thanks everyone at Global Action Sports, Rush Sports, and Sport the Library

Dan Reardon bests Chad Reed at Perth Supercross! - Photo 1 of 3

250 winner Moss

Dan Reardon bests Chad Reed at Perth Supercross! - Photo 2 of 3

Open Supercross runner-up Chad Reed

Dan Reardon bests Chad Reed at Perth Supercross! - Photo 3 of 3

Perth Supercross winner Daniel Reardon!

You can follow Supercross.com on Twitter – http://twitter.com/supercrosscom

Join the Supercross Community! Right here! Right now!

Free Shipping!!! Dismiss


Your Cart