Round 1

Supercross Class
1. James Stewart KAW    
2. Chad Reed YAM    
3. Ricky Carmichael SUZ    
4. Mike LaRocco HON    
5. Ivan Tedesco SUZ    
6. Ernesto Fonseca HON    
7. Nick Wey HON    
8. Travis Preston HON    
9. Michael Byrne KAW    
10. David Vuillemin HON    
11. Jeremy McGrath HON    
12. Mike Brown SUZ    
13. Kyle Lewis HON    
14. Jeff Gibson HON    
Point standings after round 1
James Stewart 25
Chad Reed 22
Ricky Carmichael 20
Mike LaRocco 18
Ivan Tedesco 16
Ernesto Fonseca 15
Nick Wey 14
Travis Preston 13
Michael Byrne 12
David Vuillemin 11
Jeremy McGrath 10
Mike Brown 9
Kyle Lewis 8
Jeff Gibson 7
1. Andrew Short HON    
2. Ryan Villopoto KAW    
3. Billy Laninovich HON    
4. Grant Langston KAW    
5. Darcy Lange KAW    
6. Paul Carpenter HON    
7. Jake Weimer HON    
8. Brett Metcalfe YAM    
9. Mike Alessi KTM    
10. Eric Sorby HON    
11. Andrew McFarlane YAM    
12. Nate Ramsey KTM    
13. Jesse Casillas KAW    
14. Justin Brayton YAM    
Point standings after round 1
Andrew Short 25
Ryan Villopoto 22
Billy Laninovich 20
Grant Langston 18
Darcy Lange 16
Paul Carpenter 15
Jake Weimer 14
Brett Metcalfe 13
Mike Alessi 12
Eric Sorby 11
Andrew McFarlane 10
Nate Ramsey 9
Jesse Casillas 8
Justin Brayton 7

Angel Stadium

Stewart fires opening round shot … Short takes Lites

James Stewart won the opening round of the 2006 AMA Supercross Series with a convincing win at Angel Stadium in Anaheim California. He rode a Kawasaki KXF 450 four-stroke machine.

Chad Reed, riding the Yamaha YZ 450 four-stroke, finished in the runner-up position, and sits three points back of James in the series point standings.

Defending supercross champion Ricky Carmichael took third position, coming back from a fall while in the lead early in the race. He raced on the Makita Suzuki RMZ 450 four-stroke.

Laps four thru seven had the crowd going wild with James Stewart, Chad Reed, and Ricky Carmichael battling up front. Carmichael would eventually fall, Reed inheriting the lead, and then Stewart getting by him. Towards the end of the race the top riders were very spread out.

Andrew Short and his factory Honda took the win in the Lites class of racing. (Yes, we wish the name ‘Lites’ would be changed like everyone else does.)

Ryan Villopoto, age 16 and riding in his first professional supercross for Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki, finished second. Billy Laninovich on the Sobe/Samsung Honda finished third. Grant Langston came from almost last place to finish in the fourth position. Mike Alessi finished ninth.

Notes: There will be more features and photos coming here in the next few days. 7-time AMA Supercross champion Jeremy McGrath rode a Honda CR 250 two-stroke, placing 11th in the main event. The track was tacky, well prepared, tough and technical. Intermission saw a special tribute to David Bailey commemorating the 20th anniversary of the 1986 Anaheim supercross and his battle with Rick Johnson. Injured military veteran Shelby gave David a replica his factory 1986 Honda CR 250.

New Chad Reed, Travis Pastrana, and Jeremy McGrath back packs!

Get results to your mobile phone in North America

Anaheim CA - January 7 - Photo 1 of 4 Anaheim CA - January 7 - Photo 2 of 4
Anaheim CA - January 7 - Photo 3 of 4 Anaheim CA - January 7 - Photo 4 of 4

Free Shipping!!! Dismiss


Your Cart