Amateurs and Pros Crown the Year's Best of FMX at the AFMXA Amateur Nationals and Ramp Awards - Photo 1 of 1

Amateur riders take event and seasonal titles in three classes at new Freestyle Moto Facility in Pala, CA

Stenberg and Adams are big winners at AFMXA Ramp Awards, one hour special to be broadcast on FUEL, February 11, 2011

The American Freestyle Motocross Association (AFMXA) recognized the top amateur and pro riders of 2010 by awarding winners of the AFMXA Nationals at Pala Raceway’s new FMX facility, and AFMXA Ramp Awards at Pala Casino Spa & Resort in Pala, CA over the weekend.

Nick Dunne of Redding, CA (Pro-Am), Ted Culbertson of Helena, MT (Amateur) and Davi Johnson of Odessa, TX (Novice) took home first-place titles in the second-annual Nationals, which were judged by FMX stars including Brian Deegan and Mike Metzger. Riders from all regions of the U.S., Mexico and Canada competed in front of their heroes and FMX fans for gold, silver and bronze prizes within the Novice, Amateur and Pro-Am event classes on the AFMXA’s newly designed training facility at Pala Raceway.

Leading up to the Nationals on Saturday, AFMXA, with the help of X Games gold medalist Chuck Carothers and Clint Espisito of FMX East, hosted Amateur Series events around the country during 2010, including stops in Texas, Illinois and California. The season-long points winners included Ed Rossi of Kenosha, WI (Pro-Am), Mark Merrix of Mexico, IN (Amateur) and Deake Hinton of Broomfield, CO (Novice).

“It’s been an amazing day here at Pala for both the riders and freestyle moto fans,” said Leah Steiger, Executive Director, AFMXA. “We organize these events to help support both current and future FMX stars, so we’re glad everyone in the sport could come together, support and celebrate. Thanks to Pala Chairman Robert Smith, Ryan Ouellette at Pala Raceway and Pala Casino for another great celebration in support of the AFMXA.”

“It’s a great feeling to help these young riders improve their skills on the bike, then perform in front of the FMX community at a great new facility here at Pala,” added Carothers, who hosted a clinic with amateurs with Metzger on Friday. “Congratulations to Saturday’s winners, we look forward to seeing even more AFMXA riders competing in the amateur events next year.”

Following the Pro-Am Finals, riders such as 2010 X Games Best Whip gold medalist Todd Potter entertained the crowd with a pro jump demo to finish the day. AFMXA also provided information booths at the facility for fans to learn more about the organization and its efforts to support freestyle moto riders around the world.

The sport’s elite then took the stage on Saturday night at the Grand Cabaret Lounge at Pala Casino Spa & Resort for the second-annual AFMXA Ramp Awards. Hosted by former MTV VJ and TV/radio star Riki Rachtman, the Ramp Awards celebrated both the earlier amateur winners and pros with categories such asBiggest Slam, Mucho Cahones and Lusk Legacy Rider of the Year, which was given to Nate Adams. Presenters and attendees included Metzger, Brian Deegan, Jeremy “Twitch” Stenberg and Lauren Lusk. Ron Young from Little Ceasar and Kyle Stevens of Bang Tango also performed Stevie Ray Vaughn’s “Life Without You,” a tribute to recently fallen riders, Mike Cinqmars and Jeremy Lusk. Transworld Motocross also hosted a Fan Favorite category, which was voted and won by Metal Mulisha’s Stenberg.

After the Awards ceremony, Jay Schwietzer’s much-anticipated film, “On the Pipe 6,” wowed the industry audience, before an 80’s hair metal-themed after party, hosted by ARF, kicked off.

FUEL TV will air the AFMXA Nationals and Awards on Thursday, February 10, 2011 at 9:00pm ET. For more information or to find out how to get FUEL

For additional information on the AFMXA and upcoming events, please visit

2010 AFMXA Nationals – Winners:

Novice Class: Davi Johnson – Odessa, TX

Amateur Class: Ted Culbertson – Helena, MT

Pro-Am Class: Nick Dunne – Redding, CA

2010 AFMXA Amateur Series – Winners:

Novice Class: Deake Hinton — Broomfield, CO

Amateur Class: Mark Merrix — Mexico, IN

Pro-Am Class: Ed Rossi — Kenosha, WI

2010 AFMXA Awards – Winners:

  • Best Spread in a Magazine: Todd Potter – “Look Mom, No Hands” shot by Chris Tedesco, Sept 2010
  • Best Viral Media Piece: Deegan vs Deegan – Metal Mulisha
  • Unsung Hero: Dr. G
  • Biggest Slam: Josh Hill – backflip attempt in practice
  • Muchos Cahones: Robbie Maddison – Canal Jump
  • Fan Favorite (fans voted at Transworld Motocross online): Jeremy ‘Twitch’ Stenberg
  • Legend Award: Mike Cinqmars
  • Lusk Legacy Rider of the Year: Nate Adams

About the AFMXA

Founded in 2009, the AFMXA is a non-profit organization that represents the interests of America’s Freestyle Motocross industry. A collective of professional, recreational, and corporate members, the AFMXA was launched to assist in more formally organizing the sport and continue supporting its growth and exposure. Further information about our mission, events, membership and partners can be found online at


Your Cart