The opening press conference of the world’s most prestigious motocross started at 9am this morning, with the selection of the gate picks.

But before we get to today … let’s pick up where we left off yesterday …

In the Media Center, there was a press conference where one of the items announced was in 2014 will see Youthstream unveil a new brand, new designs, new logos, and more. In addition to the branding, there is a new web-site ( ) a new e-magazine ( MXGP Mag ), along with a new video game. These announcements were made by Youthstream President Mr. Giuseppe Luongo.

Here is a YouTube video of the new logos:

And 6D helmets told us about their revolutionary helmet design and safety, along with Eli Tomac. This helmet’s technology is something very special, very unique. Check out

World Motocross Champion Tony Cairoli unveiled his own goggle brand – Neox Goggles TC222 limited edition. The official launch is November 6 at

OK, back to Saturday morning here in Germany – the opening press conference is the ballot to to determine who gets to choose their starting gate picks in which order. It’s a two-part process – first, using something like a lottery ball, a country is selected. Then, a number is selected which determines their gate choice. It’s the fairest method, as it’s totally random.

USA received gate choice 18. The first gate choice went to Thailand.

At 10am, the first ‘free’ practice is MX1. And World Motocross Champion Tony Cairoli of Italy is on top – 1 minute 40 seconds. Evgeny Bobryshev of Russia next, Gautier Paulin of France third, Tommy Searle of Great Britain fourth, and Ken de Dycker of Belgium next. Ryan Dungey of Team USA is eighth at 1 minute 42 seconds.

At 11am, its the MX2’s turn for free practice – on the very last lap, Dean Ferris of Team Australia turned the quickest lap so far – 1 minute 39 seconds. Team USA’s Eli Tomac second – also at 1 minute 39 seconds. Then Tonkov of Russia, Van Horebeek of Belgium, Lupino of Italy, Tixier of France. And next, at 1 minute 40 seconds is ‘hometown’ hero Kenny Roczen.

Coming at noon local time – the Open class free practice. It was Belgium’s Clement Desalle on top with 1 minute 39 seconds. Second is Shaun Simpson. Third is Christophe Charlier, then Tanel Leok, and in fifth position, Justin Barcia at 1 minute 41 seconds.


Click on the thumbnail to view larger images

[nggallery id=259]

Photos above: Team USA at the press conference, Justin Barcia’s bike, two shots of World Motocross Champion Tony Cairoli, Cairoli in action, Dr. Srb with two assistants doing the Gate Selection, Ryan Dungey in the team USA pit, two shots of Dungey’s bike, Ryan after the MX1 Free Practice, Dungey in action, USA pits, two lovely helpers of the Gate Selection, Max Nagl is number 1, 16 is Gautier Paulin, Ken Roczen’s bike, Ken Roczen 2 jumping, Tommy Searle 22, Team USA arriving, two shots of Dr. Srb with Gate Selection, Eli Tomac’s helmet, two shots of his Honda, Tomac jumping, Tomac in USA pit, two shots of Tony Cairoli with his new goggle release, one that needs no explanation, Team USA enjoying themselves, Jeremy van Horebeek, wide angle shot of the track valley, six shots of Justin Barcia number 9, two action shots of number 6 Belgium’s Clement Desalle, Israel’s 130 Elyatim, David Philippaerts, Team Germany’s Dennis Ullrich, a shot of the crowd, hillside shot with crowd and track, another shot of crowd, Dean Ferris, Brett Metcalfe 28, the crowd here in Germany, two shots of Kenny Roczen number 2, another shot of one of the hillsides.


For fans in the USA and Canada – the race is being televised on CBS Sports Network, Sunday, 3pm Eastern Time, Noon Pacific Time.



Ken Roczen

Ryan Dungey

The first race of the day – MX1 Qualifying RaceBrett Metcalfe number 28 of Team Australia wins! Ryan Dungey USA second! Tommy Searle of Great Britain third, World MX GP Champ Tony Cairoli of Italy fourth. The rest of the top – de Dycker (Belgium), Nagl (Germany), Paulin (France), Goncalves (Portugal), Guillod (Switzerland), and Marc de Reuver (Netherlands).

Brett Metcalfe of Australia wins MX1 Qualifying Race

The second race of the day – MX2 Qualifying. And it was the definite favorite of the tens of thousands of fans gathered on the hillsides – Kenny Roczen! He won! Dean Ferris of Australia second, Jeremy van Horebeek of Belgium third, and Eli Tomac of the USA fourth. The rest of the top ten – Nicholls (Great Britain), Tixier (France), Butron (Spain), Lupino (Italy), Tonkov (Russia) and Coldenhoff (Netherlands).

The final race of today – the Open Qualifying. It’s Clement Desalle of Belgium with the win in this 14 lap race. Justin Barcia of the USA is second, and then Tanel Leok of Estonia. The rest of the top ten: Waters (Australia), Simpson (Great Britain), Ullrich (Germany), Charlier (France), Mikhaylov (Russia), Walkner (Austria), and Cooper (New Zealand).

Brett Metcalfe

Kenny Roczen

Clement Desalle


YouTube video hi-lites courtesy of Youthstream







Free Shipping!!! Dismiss


Your Cart