James Stewart is the 2013 Monster Energy Cup Champion

James Stewart 7, Ryan Villopoto 2

Sam Boyd Stadium, Las Vegas. One million dollars is up for grabs tonight in the third annual Monster Energy Cup motorcycle race.

This race is unique in many ways. 1. The track is a hybrid supercross / motocross track. 2. There are three ‘main events’ instead of the traditional one main of a supercross. 3. There is one million dollars that can be won by the rider that can win all three main events. 4. There is a ‘split-start’, where riders can go into two different lanes to enter the main race track in the stadium after the outside start area. 5. And, there is the ‘Joker Lane’. (The Joker Lane is a set of whoops that each rider must go thru at least once per main event – it’s different than the normal part of the race track.)

The Cup class is the premiere class, which features defending Champion Justin Barcia (1 Honda), defending Supercross Champion Ryan Villopoto (2 Kawasaki), Eli Tomac (3 Honda), Ryan Dungey (5 KTM), James Stewart (7 Suzuki), Dean Wilson (15 Kawasaki), Zach Osborne (16 Honda), Marvin Musquin (25 KTM), Josh Grant (33 Yamaha), Ken Roczen (94 KTM), and more.

Click on the thumbnail to view larger images

[nggallery id=263]


Besides the Cup Class, there is the All-Stars, the Supermini, and KJSC (KTM Junior Supercross Challenge).

In Cup Qualifying – it’s Ryan Villopoto on top 1 minute 8:04 seconds. James Stewart second – 1:08:15. Ken Roczen 1:08:18, Justin Barcia 1:08:48, Eli Tomac 1:08:61, Zach Osborne 1:08:94, Dean Wilson 1:08:99, Ryan Dungey 1:09:00, Josh Grant 1:09:05, and tenth out of 49 riders – Marvin Musquin – 1 minute 9:15 seconds.

Ryan Villopoto

James Stewart

Ken Roczen


Hey! It’s Las Vegas!

Marvin Musquin

First heat of three Cup Class – it has the ‘split start’. All the top guys are in this race.

Ryan Villopoto is the early leader. He’s followed by Ryan Dungey and Jake Weimer. Next is Dean Wilson and Ken Roczen.

As they settle – Villopoto out front, Dungey chasing. Remember, each of them has to go thru the “Joker Lane” before the end of this moto.

After the halfway point of this ten lap race, it’s Villopoto, Dungey, Marvin Musquin has moved to third! Jake Weimer fourth, Ken Roczen fifth.

Last lap – Dungey wins it! But …. he didn’t go thru the Joker Lane … is he disqualified?????

So, is the winner Ryan Dungey, or, is it Ryan Villopoto?

The top five as scored right now – Dungey, Villopoto, Musquin, Weimer, Roczen.

But as we look at the official results – it’s Villopoto as the winner! Marvin Musquin second! Jake Weimer third. Then Ken Roczen, Eli Tomac, Ryan Dungey is scored as 6th – the penalty for not taking the Joker Lane. Then Justin Barcia, James Stewart, Cooper Webb, and Broc Tickle tenth.

Second Cup heat – it’s James Stewart, he’s chased by Ryan Villopoto! Justin Barcia is third! Ken Roczen and Ryan Dungey chase! Marvin Musquin is 9th.

Great action up front – Villopoto makes a pass on Stewart lap 7 – and as they go outside the stadium, Stewart makes the pass back and into the lead!

Last lap – Stewart goes thru the Joker Lane, and Villopoto takes over the lead! But then, Villopoto crashes! James Stewart wins this ten lap race! Justin Barcia take second! Ryan Dungey is third! Then Ken Roczen, Dean Wilson, Eli Tomac, and Cole Seely.

Villopoto does get up, and walks away. Will he come back for the final moto???

Third Cup heat – They emerge from the starting area, and it’s … Kenny Roczen with the lead! James Stewart second, followed by Ryan Dungey and Justin Barcia!

Ryan Villopoto did not start this race …

It’s come down to Roczen leading and Stewart chasing. Stewart is closing.

On lap five, on the outside part of the course, James Stewart has passed Roczen for the lead!

On lap seven, Stewart lead Roczen by just a half a second. Ryan Dungey has gone thru the Joker Lane … Tomac moves to third, and Dungey is fourth. But those top three have not taken the Joker Lane yet …

Justin Barcia has to end his night … he’s getting his bike pushed back into the pits …

It’s going to come down to the final lap. And the Joker Lane.

Last lap. Both Stewart and Roczen have to go thru the Joker Lane. And Stewart emerges the leader … but Ryan Dungey and Eli Tomac moves into second and third! Roczen next!

The results of this moto – Stewart wins! Dungey second! Tomac third! Roczen fourth! Then Seely, Wilson, Grant, Musquin, Tickle, and Short.

This all means that James Stewart is the 2013 Monster Energy Cup Champion! He scores three moto finishes of 8/1/1. Second goes to Ryan Dungey – sixth, third, second. Third is Ken Roczen – 4/4/4. Tomac is next fourth, sixth, and third.

Final Overall Results:

  1. James Stewart – SUZ – 10 points – 8/1/1
  2. Ryan Dungey – KTM – 11 points – 6/3/2
  3. Ken Roczen – KTM – 12 points – 4/4/4
  4. Eli Tomac – HON – 14 points – 5/6/3
  5. Marvin Musquin – KTM – 19 points – 2/9/8
  6. Cole Seely – HON – 25 points – 13/7/5
  7. Broc Tickle – SUZ – 27 points – 10/8/9
  8. Justin Barcia – HON – 27 points – 7/2/18
  9. Dean Wilson – KAW – 31 points – 20/5/6
  10. Josh Grant – YAM – 32 points – 15/10/7
  11. Andrew Short – KTM – 33 points – 12/11/10
  12. Cooper Webb – YAM – 37 points – 9/12/16
  13. Tyler Bowers – 42 points – 14/13/15
  14. Matt Goerke – KTM – 43 points – 18/14/11
  15. Ryan Villopoto – KAW – 43 points – 1/21/21

Ryan Dungey




Your Cart