The 2013 Monster Energy Supercross season starts the first Saturday in January, at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California. And the series will end the first Saturday in May, at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas.

First, let’s look at what happened this past season. Ryan Villopoto clinched his second consecutive Monster Energy Supercross Championship. And he did it in dominating fashion, winning the title before the season even ended.

Ryan Villopoto will wear the number 1 in 2013 Supercross

Ryan Villopoto

Justin Barcia won the ‘East’ 250 Lites Region, and Eli Tomac won the ‘West’ 250 Lites Region.

For a season recap on the points, and some great photos, just take a look at the finale in Las Vegas.

At the beginning of a season, you’ve got to start with the ‘big’ names. And these are the ‘big’ names:

Ryan Villopoto
Chad Reed
Ryan Dungey
James Stewart

Why? They’ve all won AMA Supercross Championships! Villopoto – defending champion (and 2011 champion). Chad Reed has won two titles (2004, 2008), Ryan Dungey won the championship in 2010. And James Stewart has two AMA Supercross Championships – 2007, 2009.

Ryan Villopoto is coming back from a knee injury, suffered at the Seattle Supercross last April. But he did race at the Monster Energy Cup, looked great, and is 100% fit and ready to go for 2013. RV will ride with the big number “1” on his Monster Energy Kawasaki all season.

Ryan Villopoto - Monster Energy Kawasaki's two-time Supercross Champion

Chad Reed. Chad is also coming back from injury – he crashed at the Dallas Supercross and had multiple injuries – the most serious to his knee. He’s back and fit as well. He raced the Monster Energy Cup, and then went ‘home’ to Australia where he won three rounds of the Australian Supercross Series. He’s ready to go too. Chad is number 22 on a Honda – his own team: Two–Two Motorsports.

Chad Reed Two-Two Motorsports number 22

Chad Reed

Ryan Dungey. He is, as KTM says, ‘Ready to Race’. Ryan is fit. Ryan is smart. Ryan has a brand new model KTM 450 machine. He has a great support staff around him. He’s comfortable at KTM after being there over a year now. Can he win his second title? Ryan will race on the number 5 machine.

Ryan Dungey will be rocking the number 5 Red Bull KTM

Ryan Dungey

James Stewart. He won his first title in 2007 aboard a Kawasaki. He’s ridden for various teams over the past few years, and finds himself coming into this season on a bike he’s never raced in supercross before – Suzuki. He has had some successs on the bike though – winning the first four motos of the 2012 Lucas Oil AMA outdoor motocross series, until a hard fall at the Colorado national derailed the rest of his 2012 season. Look for James in 2013 with his familiar number 7 – on the Yoshimura Suzuki team.

James Stewart at a race in 2012

James Stewart

Does anyone remember who finished second to Villopoto in the 2012 Supercross Series?

Davi Millsaps. Davi is on a new team – Rockstar Suzuki. He’ll be riding with number 18.

Justin Barcia has moved up to the 450 class after winning two consecutive East Regional championships. Justin has always made great results when riding a 450. He won the Monster Energy Cup back in October. Can he stay consistent in his first full season in 450 Supercross for a 17 race series? That’s always a question when a rider moves up from the 250 class. And Justin need look no further than Jeremy McGrath (who won the premier supercross title in his rookie season – 1993, and Ryan Dungey, who also won as a rookie in the premier 450 SX class – 2010).

[nggallery id=162]

More info on the 450 class: Mike Alessi will be racing on his #800 Suzuki on the MotoConcepts team. Kevin Windham will be back again on the number 14 GEICO Honda. Trey Canard (a 2008 Lites Regional Champion) is returning to competition from a serious back injury. Jake Weimer (another former 250 Lites Regional Champion) is Villopoto’s team-mate on the Monster Energy Kawasaki team. Joe Gibbs Racing Motocross – they have two riders they’ve had on their team before – Josh Grant & Justin Brayton. They’ll be racing Yamaha YZ 450’s. Andrew Short returns on the Chaparral Honda team, managed by Larry Brooks. He’ll be number 29. A new team – RCH Factory Racing. Ricky Carmichael and Carey Hart have teamed together to form this team. They have factory Suzuki bikes. Their riders will be Broc Tickle (another former 250 Lites Regional Champion) and Josh Hill.

And the 250 Lites classes – actually two series that run as ‘West’ and ‘East’ regional series.

Do we, or anyone, know for sure which ‘coast’ riders are going to race on? No. Because teams and riders can always change their mind – and many changes usually happen the week before and after the opening round at Anaheim.

Some notes though: 250 LItes West Regional Eli Tomac will be racing the 250 class at least one more year – although which series (region) remains to be seen. And there is a new member to the GEICO Honda team – Zach Osborne – who has been racing the World Motocross Championships the past few years. KTM has said that former World Motocross Champions Ken Roczen and Marvin Musquin will race West and East respectively. Monster Energy Pro Circuit has top contender and 2011 AMA 250 National Motocross Champion Dean Wilson. And 2012 AMA 250 National MX Champion Blake Baggett.

You will find all the latest information we have here on over the next few days, weeks, and months!

2012 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series overall standings

250 Lites East Final Point Standings

Justin Barcia – 210
Ken Roczen – 165
Blake Wharton – 158
Blake Baggett – 148
Darryn Durham – 143
Jake Canada – 131
Justin Bogle – 117
Kyle Cunningham – 85
Matt Lemoine – 78
Malcolm Stewart – 77
Alex Martin – 67
Les Smith – 50
Shane Sewell – 48
Phil Nicoletti – 47
Hunter Hewitt – 45

250 Lites West Final Point Standings

Eli Tomac – 184
Dean Wilson – 154
Marvin Musquin – 142
Cole Seely – 119
Jason Anderson – 111
Matt Moss – 106
Ryan Sipes – 96
Martin Davalos – 89
Billy Laninovich – 85
Nico Izzi – 78
Travis Baker – 75
Vince Friese – 73
Zach Osborne – 67
Wil Hahn – 67
Tyla Rattray – 60

450 Supercross Final Point Standings

Ryan Villopoto – 323
Davi Millsaps – 266
Ryan Dungey – 257
Justin Brayton – 257
Jake Weimer – 229
Mike Alessi – 206
James Stewart – 178
Brett Metcalfe – 177
Broc Tickle – 171
Kevin Windham – 166
Kyle Chisholm – 143
Chad Reed – 128
Andrew Short – 126
Nick Wey – 116
Weston Peick – 99
Rob Kiniry – 91
Josh Grant – 90
Josh Hansen – 89
Matt Goerke – 76
Justin Sipes – 61
Marvin Musquin – 59


Eli Tomac at the Monster Energy Cup 2012

Eli Tomac

Justin Barcia will be racing for American Honda Muscle Milk - number 51

Justin Barcia


Free Shipping!!! Dismiss


Your Cart