The Red Bull KTM wrecking crew of World Motocross Champions Tony Cairoli (MX1) and Jeffrey Herlings (MX2) score victories in front of massive French crowd. French riders Gautier Paulin (MX1) and Dylan Ferrandis (MX2) take second overall in front of home fans on the beautiful hillside circuit of Ernee.

Next week will see a historic event as the World Motocross Championships return to Maggiora, Italy – site of the famous 1986 Motocross des Nations.

Tony Cairoli – TC 222

YouTube video highlights of 2013 French MX GP courtesy Youthstream

Tony Cairoli said after winning the MX1 Grand Prix “I’m really happy and satisfied with this victory. Now I’ll get to Maggiora next weekend at the top of the rankings. Next week will be a historic round, so I’m really looking forward to see all my Italian fans and supporters. During the first race, Paulin and I both gave a great show to the crowd. During the final laps I had some issues with the lappets and I couldn’t re-launch my attack on him. On the other hand, during the second race I easily managed to boost up my rhythm and win the race.”

2nd place in MX1, Gautier Paulin said afterwards “I really enjoyed racing in front of my home crowd this weekend. I had a great race with Tony in the first moto and had some good lines on the track. I could see the crowd cheering me on, waving their arms and flags over the fence, which was an amazing feeling. The second moto did not start good but I did my best and am really happy to be on the podium. I’ll be racing in front of my home crowd again in Bercy (Supercross) in November but until then I hope to keep challenging for this MX1 title.”

Text below, and photo of MX 2 podium courtesy Youthstream

MX1– Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli obtained his 59th Grand Prix victory in Ernée after finishing second and first in today’s races. In the first race the Italian obtained the Get Athena holeshot Award, but half way through the race Cairoli made a mistake while trying to change his line and Gautier Paulin overtook him. The KTM rider did not give up and he tried to pass the French racer back until the very last lap, but in the end Cairoli had to settle with second. In the second race the current red plate holder took another holeshot and this time nothing stopped the Italian of leading the race until the chequered flag.

The second overall position was for Kawasaki Racing Team’s Gautier Paulin, who was very pleased to win the first race in front of his home crowd who cheered widely for him during the entire weekend. In the second race the home rider had a really good start but in the first corner there was a crash and he was taken out to the outside. Paulin was down in sixth and he would cross the finish line fourth to be on the second step of the podium.

Rockstar Energy Suzuki World’s Clement Desalle was very satisfied for his third overall position today, especially because he struggled a lot yesterday during the qualifying race. The Belgian admitted that they made some small modifications on his bike, which helped him to feel more comfortable during today’s races. In both heats Desalle had a good start – he rode a consistent first moto in third position after he had overtaken Van Horebeek, and in the second one he passed Boog after the first three laps and he rode second until the chequered flag.

CLS Kawasaki Monster Energy Pro Circuit’s Tommy Searle had one of his best performances of the season today, finishing fourth overall. The British rider started down in twelfth in the first race, but he managed to finish seventh in front of Nagl with whom he had a thrilling battle during most of the race. In the second heat Searle had a much better start and he ended third, which gave him the fourth overall position, his best ever result in the MX1 class so far.

MX2– Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings woke up with a lot of pain this morning due to the crash he suffered yesterday during the qualifying race. The Dutch rider had two good starts and he won both heats, but he admitted that he struggled to find the good lines because every time he had to put the foot on the ground he suffered a lot of pain. Herlings will not have much time to recover, but he is already looking forward to racing in Maggiora next weekend.

Rockstar Bud Racing Kawasaki’s Dylan Ferrandis made one of his dreams come true today by finishing second overall in his home Grand Prix. In the first race Ferrandis started third behind Herlings and Butrón, but he quickly passed the Spanish ride. At some point of the race Ferrandis was really close to catch the Dutch rider, but in the end he had to settle down with the second position. In the second race Ferrandis started second behind Nicholls and the French rider made the crowd go crazy when he took the lead after four laps. However, he made a mistake and he dropped down to third, but he was able to overtake Nicholls again by the end of the heat and he crossed the finish line second.

The third overall position was also for another French rider, Monster Energy Yamaha’s Christophe Charlier. Charlier had a difficult first race because he started down in the thirteenth position, but he managed to cross the finish line ninth. In the second race the French rider had a better start and after exchanging fourth position with Ferrandis and Tonkov, he was able to move up to third in the last stages of the race. Charlier was very satisfied with his result today, as it is his maiden podium of the season.

Jeffrey Herlings atop the MX2 podium

MX2 Grand Prix Results:

  1. Jeffrey Herlings – KTM – 1/1
  2. Dylan Ferrandis – KAW – 2/2
  3. Christophe Charlier – YAM – 9/3
  4. Alexander Tonkov – HON – 8/4
  5. Jake Nicholls – KTM – 6/5
  6. Jordi Tixier – KTM – 4/9
  7. Jose Butron – KTM – 5/8
  8. Glenn Coldenhoff – KTM – 3/18
  9. Petar Petrov – YAM – 10/11
  10. Max Anstie – SUZ – 7/14
  11. Maxime Desprey – YAM
  12. Jason Clermont – KAW
  13. Dean Ferris – YAM
  14. Alessandro Lupino – KAW
  15. Harri Kullas – HON

MX1 Grand Prix Results:

  1. Tony Cairoli – KTM – 2/1
  2. Gautier Paulin – KAW – 1/4
  3. Clement Desalle – SUZ – 3/2
  4. Tommy Searle – KAW – 7/3
  5. Jeremy van Horebeek – KAW – 4/6
  6. Ken de Dycker – KTM – 5/5
  7. Kevin Strijbos – SUZ – 11/8
  8. Davide Guarneri – KTM
  9. Xavier Boog – KTM
  10. Evgeny Bobryshev – HON
  11. Max Nagl – HON
  12. Rui Goncalves – KTM
  13. David Philippaerts – HON
  14. Nicolas Aubin – HON
  15. Joel Roelants – YAM

MX2 Championship points:

  1. Jeffrey Herlings – 397
  2. Jordi Tixier – 287
  3. Jose Butron – 247
  4. Glenn Coldenhoff – 237
  5. Christophe Charlier – 230
  6. Dean Ferris – 197
  7. Max Anstie – 193
  8. Jake Nicholls – 181
  9. Alessandro Lupino – 162
  10. Dylan Ferrandis – 149
  11. Mel Pocock – 140
  12. Petar Petrov – 135
  13. Alexander Tonkov – 112
  14. Romain Febvre – 98
  15. Maxime Desprey – 96

MX1 Championship points:

  1. Tony Cairoli – 377
  2. Gautier Paulin – 321
  3. Clement Desalle – 309
  4. Ken de Dycker – 277
  5. Kevin Strijbos – 243
  6. Tommy Searle – 239
  7. Max Nagl – 190
  8. Jeremy van Horebeek – 171
  9. Rui Goncalves – 168
  10. David Philippaerts – 145
  11. Evgeny Bobryshev – 127
  12. Joel Roelants – 124
  13. Shaun Simpson – 120
  14. Davide Guarneri – 120
  15. Xavier Boog – 111

Gautier Paulin in front of the massive ‘home’ French crowd – image Pascal Haudiquert





Your Cart