Ryan Dungey sweeps 450 Motocross, and has commanding lead in series. James Stewart did race the first moto, but DNS the second due to wrist injury of last week. 250 MX Lites is a battle between the ‘young guns’ Blake Baggett, Kenny Roczen, Justin Barcia, Eli Tomac and more! Today, Eli Tomac scores the overall victory!

High Point / Mt. Morris MX

Warm and sunny day as a nice crowd is filing into the track. Everyone is asking the question “Will James Stewart be here today?” because of his crash last week in Colorado. And the answer is ‘Yes, James Stewart is here today’.

250 Class qualifying – Two World Champions. Two Red Bull KTM racers. It’s Marvin Musquin on top with 2 minutes 8 seconds. Marvin had the quickest lap of any rider in the morning. Kenny Roczen is second with 2 minutes 10 seconds. Then Eli Tomac, Jason Anderson, Blake Baggett, Justin Barcia, Wil Hahn, Ivan Tedesco, Blake Wharton and Kyle Cunningham are the top riders out of 66 total.

450 Class qualifying – Can you believe it? James Stewart on top with 2 minutes 8 seconds. Then Mike Alessi, Jake Weimer, Ryan Dungey, Nico Izzi, Ryan Sipes, Davi Millsaps, Broc Tickle and Andrew Short out of 81 qualifiers.

2012 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross - Round 4 - High Point - Photo 1 of 4
Ryan Dungey racing with the red plate

450 Class Moto 1 – The leader at the end of the first lap – it’s Mike Alessi leading, Andrew Short second, and Ryan Dungey third. James Stewart is in eighth.

Lap eight, Dungey works his way past M Alessi and into the lead. Running order – Dungey, Alessi, Jake Weimer, Andrew Short, … James Stewart has worked into fifth.

This 30 minute plus two lap race is going to go 16 laps. And Ryan Dungey wins this moto! Second place goes to Mike Alessi. Third Jake Weimer, fourth Andrew Short, fifth James Stewart, who did not look 100% race speed.

250 Class Moto 1 – At the end of the first lap, it’s Justin Barcia with the lead! The track is starting to dry out in places. Second place right now, Wil Hahn. Third is Alex Martin, then Blake Wharton, Marvin Musquin, Malcolm Stewart, Eli Tomac, Ken Roczen, Ivan Tedesco, and Blake Baggett out of 40 starters.

Lap seven – Justin Barcia is leading Wil Hahn by over seven seconds. Eli Tomac has moved into third. And Blake Baggett has just passed Ken Roczen to move into fourth, Roczen now fifth. Marvin Musquin is next, followed by Alex Martin and Ivan Tedesco.

As this race winds down, Justin Barcia is leading comfortably. His teammate Eli Tomac is second. And here comes Blake Baggett, making his usual charge thru the pack. He’s third behind Tomac. Fourth is Wil Hahn, fifth is Kenny Roczen, sixth Marvin Musquin.

This race will also be 30 minutes plus two laps, a total of 16 laps. Justin Barcia wins it! Second goes to teammate Eli Tomac. Third is Blake Baggett. Fourth Wil Hahn, fifth Ken Roczen, and sixth goes to Marvin Musquin.

Justin did crash towards the end of the race, but got back up, and held his position to win.

2012 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross - Round 4 - High Point - Photo 2 of 4
Justin Barcia, Supercross East Champion, practicing start

450 Class Moto 2 – James Stewart is not starting this race. Official scoring would be DNS (Did Not Start). Evidently, his injured wrist from last week is bad enough to keep him off the track for this race.

The leader at the end of this first lap – Mike Alessi. He’s being followed by Ryan Dungey, Jake Weimer, Brett Metcalfe, Broc Tickle, Michael Byrne and Davi Millsaps.

Five laps in, Mike Alessi leads Ryan Dungey by about .5 of a second. Weimer is third, Metcalfe fourth, then Tickle, Millsaps, R Sipes, Michael Byrne, Matt Lemoine, and Andrew Short.

On lap seven, Ryan Dungey has taken over the lead. It’s Dungey first, M Alessi next, then Weimer, Metcalfe, Tickle, Millsaps, R Sipes, Byrne, Lemoine, and Short.

Ryan Dungey appears headed towards his second win in a row, and KTM’s second 450 AMA Motocross win in a row. Dungey will also have a commanding lead in the series, as it heads to Budds Creek MD next Saturday.

This race is also going to go 16 laps. And Ryan Dungey has won the moto, the overall, and extends his series points lead! Mike Alessi takes another second place to finish second overall, and Jake Weimer scores another third to claim third overall. Fourth in this moto – Davi MIllsaps, then Brett Metcalfe, R Sipes, Michael Byrne and Andrew Short.

250 Class Moto 2 – it’s time for the final men’s moto of the day. The early leader is number 70, Ken Roczen! He’s followed by Justin Barcia, Blake Baggett, Marvin Musquin, Jason Anderson, and Eli Tomac. Blake Wharton crashes out of the race, while Malcolm Stewart gets banners caught up in his rear wheel.

Five laps in – it’s Kenny Roczen leading Justin Barcia by about five seconds. Blake Baggett is chasing Barcia. Eli Tomac next, then Marvin Musquin round of the top riders.

Top five now on lap ten – it’s Kenny Roczen first, Blake Bagget has moved into second Justin Barcia third, Eli Tomac fourth, and Marvin Musquin fifth. 39 riders started this race. Roczen has a six second lead over second place Baggett with about 13 minutes left in this race.

Lap 12 – Baggett off the track and had to bump start the machine, he remounts in sixth place. As they start lap 14, the running order is Kenny Roczen, Justin Barcia, Eli Tomac, Marvin Musquin, Jason Anderson, and Blake Baggett.

Two laps to go. Roczen is leading, but Eli Tomac has passed teammate Barcia to move into second. Barcia now third. Marvin Musquin fourth, then Jason Anderson, and Blake Baggett.

Last lap – Tomac sets the fastest lap of the moto and goes by Roczen (who tipped over quickly) in the exact same place he passed Barcia on a previous lap! Eli Tomac wins the moto, and the overall! This moto has Tomac first, Roczen second, Justin Barcia third, Marvin Musquin fourth, and Blake Baggett fifth.

Eli Tomac said after the race: I was like, ‘I’ve got a real chance at this now’. I kept digging deep and made it happen on the third turn of the last lap. That second moto was a lot of work, but I never gave up. I felt like I was a little tight in that first moto, but I got second, which was real important for that overall win.

2012 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross - Round 4 - High Point - Photo 3 of 4
James Stewart did race in the first moto, DNS the second

2012 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross - Round 4 - High Point - Photo 4 of 4Eli Tomac takes the overall at High Point

Motocross Results
1. R Dungey 1/1 KTM
2. M Alessi 2/2 SUZ
3. J Weimer 3/3 KAW
4. A Short 4/8 HON
5. D Millsaps 9/4 YAM
6. B Metcalfe 7/5 SUZ
7. B Tickle 6/9 KAW
8. R Sipes 12/6 YAM
9. N Izzi 8/10 YAM
10. M Byrne 13/7 SUZ
11. J Brayton 11/13 HON
12. K Chisholm 14/12 KAW
13. J Stewart 5/39 SUZ
14. Vince Friese SUZ
15. Josh Grant KAW
16. Kyle Regal
17. J Albertson
18. Ben LaMay YAM
19. B Laninovich HON
20. M Lemoine KAW
Motocross Pts
Ryan Dungey 186
Mike Alessi 144
Jake Weimer 141
Andrew Short 128
James Stewart 116
Brett Metcalfe 114
Nico Izzi 95
Broc Tickle 90
Josh Grant 84
Kyle Chisholm 66
Justin Brayton 64
Michael Byrne 63
Ryan Sipes 62
Davi Millsaps 59
Matt Lemoine 45
Tommy Hahn 39
J Albertson 32
R Kiniry 31
Vince Friese 30
B Laninovich 29
250 Lites Results
1. Eli Tomac 2/1 HON
2. Justin Barcia 1/3 HON
3. Ken Roczen 5/2 KTM
4. B Baggett 3/5 KAW
5. M Musquin 6/4 KTM
6. Wil Hahn HON
7. Ivan Tedesco KAW
8. J Anderson SUZ
9. K Cunningham YAM
10. Jessy Nelson HON
11.  Alex Martin HON
12. G Swanepoel YAM
13. Travis Baker HON
14. Kyle Peters YAM
15. Jake Canada HON
16. Dakota Tedder KAW
17. Matt Moss KTM
18. Hunter Hewitt SUZ
19. Blake Wharton SUZ
20. Zach Freeberg KTM
250 Lites Pts
Blake Baggett 175
Justin Barcia 168
Eli Tomac 164
Ken Roczen 158
Marvin Musquin 117
Wil Hahn 101
Blake Wharton 87
Ivan Tedesco 86
Kyle Cunningham 86
Jason Anderson 77
Jake Canada 74
Jessy Nelson 69
Travis Baker 62
Gareth Swanepoel 61
Alex Martin 43
Kyle Peters 42
Martin Davalos 40
Zach Freeberg 38
Malcolm Stewart 38
Hunter Hewitt 30

Free Shipping!!! Dismiss


Your Cart