Round 10 of the Lucas Oil AMA Pro MX Series at Unadilla Valley Sports Center in New York! In the 450 class, Ryan Dungey wins his eighth overall in a row, and clinches the 2012 AMA National Motocross Championship. Two time FIM World Motocross Champion Marvin Musquin wins his first 250 MX Lites overall in the USA! James Stewart finished 15th overall in his return to racing. Blake Baggett leads Justin Barcia by 24 points with just two rounds remaining …

Unadilla Valley Sports Center

Some rain overnight, but today is looking good – no extreme heat at the famous Unadilla race track.

250 Class qualifying – It’s Marvin Musquin on top with the quickest lap – 2 minutes 16 seconds! His Red Bull KTM team-mate Kenny Roczen next at 2 minutes 18 seconds. Then Justin Barcia, Blake Baggett, Eli Tomac, Alex Martin, Zach Bell, Jason Anderson, Justin Bogle and Ryan Sipes (2:20) round out the top ten of 78 riders attempting to qualify.

450 Class qualifying – It’s Jeff Ward Racing’s Josh Grant on top of the 450 qualifying, with the quickest lap in the class of 2 minutes 17 seconds! James Stewart is second – just a few hundreths of a second behind Josh. Third is Tyla Rattray at 2 minutes 18 seconds. Then Nico Izzi, Christian Craig, Ryan Dungey, Broc Tickle, Mike Alessi, Jake Weimer, and Robert Marshall (2:19) round out the top ten of 82 racers attempting to race today.

450 Class Moto 1 – The hole shot goes to Australian Michael Byrne, followed by Jake Weimer and James Stewart, with the series points leader, Ryan Dungey in 7th.

After taking the early lead on lap 1, Stewart went down after he crashed into a barrel and dropped to 12th. Jake Weimer took advantage of Bubba’s crash and moved into first, but his lead didn’t last long. Michael Byrne was given back the lead after Weimer crashed and was unable to finish the moto.

6 laps have been completed at the half way point. The top 3 running order was Byrne, Tickle and Dungey. Josh Grant who had the best lap in practice was 6th.

2012 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross - Round 10 - Unadilla MX, NY - Photo 1 of 6
James Stewart made his return after an injury earlier in the season

On lap 9 Stewart went down for a 2nd time. Tickle inherited the lead after Michael Byrne hurts his ankle on lap 11 and was unable to continue the moto.

On lap 15 Dungey made the pass on Tickle for the lead on his way to another moto victory. Mike Alessi, who is second in the points series, pulled out of the race after just four laps because of a rock that damaged his radiator. Southwick’s moto 2 winner, Tyla Rattray, finished 7th.

Top 10 finishers in moto 1: Dungey, Tickle, Millsaps, Short, Grant, Izzi, Nicolleti, Rattray, Stewart, and Kiniry.

250 Class Moto 1 – After making his pro debut last week, Zach Bell gets the hole shot in moto 1, followed by Blake Baggett, Justin Bogle, Ken Roczen and Marvin Musquin in 5th.

2012 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross - Round 10 - Unadilla MX, NY - Photo 2 of 6
Zach Bell

Roczen moved into 2nd, after Baggett made a mistake on the first lap. Then Bell went down on lap 3, where Roczen moved into 1st and never looked back.

Musquin passed Baggett on lap 4 to move into 3rd. After slightly going off the track, Marvin got back on the track to pass Bogle for 2nd.

Half way through the moto the running order was Roczen in first followed by Musquin, Baggett, Bogle, Wharton, Anderson, Jeremy Martin, Bell, Malcolm Stewart and Tomac.

At the finish Ken Roczen wins his first moto in the US! His RedBull KTM teammate Marvin Musquin took 2nd, followed by points leader Blake Baggett in 3rd. The rest of the top 10: Wharton, Jason Anderson, Tomac, Barcia, Bell, Wil Hahn and Malcolm Stewart.

2012 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross - Round 10 - Unadilla MX, NY - Photo 3 of 6
Ken Roczen won his first moto in the U.S.

450 Class Moto 2 – Andrew Short got the hole shot followed by Millsaps, Dungey, Alessi, Stewart and Tickle.

On lap 2 Dungey, Alessi and Stewart all passed Millsaps, who dropped to 5th in the moto.

After a short battle on lap 3 Dungey made the pass on Short to take the lead.

On lap 4 both Alessi and Stewart passed Short to move into 2nd and 3rd respectively, But after 5 laps into the moto, Bubba crashed and didn’t continue the race. Christian Craig pulled out due to bike issues on the same lap.

Ryan Dungey took the checkerd flag in moto 2, thus winning his second 450 AMA National Motocross Championship in three years. With this win, Dungey gave KTM their first ever AMA Motocross National Championship. A valiant effort by Mike Alessi, finished 2nd in the moto, followed by Short. The rest of the top 10 include Tickle, Millsaps, Grant, Chisholm, Izzi, Rattray, and Brayton.

250 Class Moto 2 – The holeshot went to Justin Barcia followed by Bogle, Bell, Musquin, Tomac, Hahn. After the first lap the running order was Barcia, Bell, Musquin, Tomac, Bogle, Davalos, Baggett, Roczen, Hahn, Nelson.

On lap 3, Baggett and Roczen passed on Martin Davalos, who makes a mistake and drops to 8th.

On the next lap Eli Tomac passed Musquin and teammate Bell to move into 2nd. Running order Barcia, Tomac, Bell, Musquin, Bogle.

With 12 mins to go in the moto, Eli passed Barcia to take the lead.

Less than 5 mins to go, Zack Bell crashed out of the moto.

Final lap and moto win goes to Eli Tomac followed by Barcia, Musquin, Bogle, Baggett and Roczen.

With his 2/3 finish, France’s Marvin Musquin wins the overall. This is the first time KTM wins both the 250 and 450 class on the same day.

2012 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross - Round 10 - Unadilla MX, NY - Photo 4 of 6
Marvin Musquin won his first the overall in the U.S.

2012 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross - Round 10 - Unadilla MX, NY - Photo 5 of 6
Eli Tomac won moto 2

2012 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross - Round 10 - Unadilla MX, NY - Photo 6 of 6
Ryan Dungey wins the 2012 AMA Motocross National Championship



Motocross Results
1. R Dungey 1/1 KTM
2. B TIckle 2/4 KAW
3. A Short 4/3 HON
4. D Millsaps 3/5 YAM
5. Josh Grant 5/6 KAW
6. Nico Izzi YAM
7. Tyla Rattray KAW
8. P Nicoletti HON
9. K Chisholm KAW
10. Mike Alessi SUZ
11. Kiniri YAM
12. J Brayton HON
13. V Friese SUZ
14. A Howell SUZ
15. J Stewart SUZ
16. B LaMay YAM
17. R Marshall KTM
18. K Regal YAM
19. D Anderson KAW
20. J Wentland KTM
Motocross Pts
Ryan Dungey 480
Mike Alessi 367
Andrew Short 311
Broc Tickle 293
Jake Weimer 293
Josh Grant 226
Justin Brayton 202
Kyle Chisholm 182
James Stewart 163
Davi Millsaps 150
Brett Metcalfe 142
Michael Byrne 138
Nicco Izzi 123
Tyla Rattray 109
Tommy Hahn 101
Ryan Sipes 94
Robert Kiniri 73
Vince Friese 73
Ben LaMay 68
Les Smith 66
250 Lites Results
1. M Musquin 2/3 KTM
2. E Tomac 6/1 HON
3. K Roczen 1/6 KTM
4. J Barcia 7/2 HON
5. B Baggett 3/5 KAW
6. J Bogle HON
7. W Hahn HON
8. J Anderson SUZ
9. M Davalos SUZ
10. J Nelson HON
11. B Wharton SUZ
12. J Canada HON
13. M Stewart SUZ
14. Z Bell HON
15. T Baker HON
16. C Thompson YAM
17. R Sipes YAM
18. A Martin HON
19. D Tedder KAW
20. J Hayes KTM
250 Lites Pts
Blake Baggett 436
Justin Barcia 412
Eli Tomac 408
Ken Roczen 385
Marvin Musquin 336
Wil Hahn 255
Blake Wharton 215
Jason Anderson 206
Jessy Nelson 189
Travis Baker 168
Jake Canada 149
Malcolm Stewart 137
Alex Martin 119
Justin Bogle 112
G Swanepoel 106
Ivan Tedesco 105
K Cunningham 96
Martin Davalos 80
Kyle Peters 73
Zack Freeberg 57

Free Shipping!!! Dismiss


Your Cart