Aurora Stadium, Launceston, Tasmania

Jay Marmont takes win! CDR Rockstar Yamaha’s Jay Marmont won the first round of the 2009 Monster Energy Super X championship, beating two-time AMA Supercross Champion Chad Reed, and Woodstock Honda Thor Racing’s Daniel Reardon.

This was defending Australasian Supercross Series Champion Reed’s first ride for Monster Energy Kawasaki. He did have a problem in his heat, forcing him to get to the final via LCQ.

But the victory belonged to Jay Marmont! “I just wanted to get out and there and race all day and I had a lot of fun out there tonight. There is no better way to start the series and this gives me a lot of confidence for the second round in Geelong next week.”

A disappointed Chad Reed, who was sore from his crash in his heat race said “It was a rough night for me. I had to go to last chance and come from the back in both races. Someone hit me from behind at the start in the heat race and came down on top of my elbow which put me out of the heat. It was extremely painful during both races – every bump it hurt so I had to be a bit cautious. I tried to be careful and not do anything silly but on the last lap I saw an opportunity to challenge for the race lead and I had to take it. I ended up winning the last race, which was pretty cool.”

The Monster Energy Super X will now make its way to Skilled Stadium in Geelong for the second round on Saturday October 24 – next Saturday!

For ALL the info, latest news, Ticket info and more on the Australasian Supercross Series, visit !

Results – Monster Energy Super X Double Header Final

  1. Jay MARMONT, Yamaha, 19-19 TOTAL 38
  2. Daniel REARDON, Honda, 20-17 TOTAL 37
  3. Chad REED, Kawasaki, 16-20 TOTAL 36
  4. Cheyne BOYD, Yamaha, 18-18 TOTAL 36
  5. Tye SIMMONDS, KTM, 15-16, TOTAL 31
  6. Cody MACKIE, Kawasaki, 17-12 TOTAL 29
  7. Daniel McCOY, KTM, 13-14 TOTAL 27
  8. Craig ANDERSON, Kawasaki, 14-14 TOTAL 28
  9. Michael ADDISON, Honda, 12-13 TOTAL 25
  10. Cameron TAYLOR, Suzuki, 10-11 TOTAL 21

Results – Lites Double Header Final

  1. Matt MOSS, Suzuki, 20-20, TOTAL 40
  2. Ryan MARMONT, Yamaha, 18-18, TOTAL 36
  3. Kyle CUNNINGHAM, Yamaha, 16-19, TOTAL 35
  4. Lawson BOPPING, Suzuki, 17-17, TOTAL 34
  5. Kirk GIBBS, Yamaha, 15-15, TOTAL 30
  6. Adam MONEA, Suzuki, 19-11, TOTAL 30
  7. Brendan HARRISON, Yamaha, 12-13, TOTAL 25
  8. Mitch AUSTIN, KTM, 10-12, TOTAL 22
  9. Danny ANDERSON, KTM, 5-14, TOTAL 19
  10. Shaun WILLIAMSON, Honda, 9-10, TOTAL 19

2009 Australasian Supercross Series Kicks off Round 1 - Photo 1 of 4

Matt Moss won the 250 Supercross Lites

2009 Australasian Supercross Series Kicks off Round 1 - Photo 2 of 4

Defending Series Supercross Champion Chad Reed finished third in the Open Supercross class, making his debut on Monster Kawasaki

2009 Australasian Supercross Series Kicks off Round 1 - Photo 3 of 4

Daniel Reardon finished second overall here at Round 1

2009 Australasian Supercross Series Kicks off Round 1 - Photo 4 of 4

The winner of Round 1 of the 2009 Monster Energy Australasian Super X Series – Jay Marmont!

Thanks to everyone at Global Action Sports, Rush Sports, and Sport Library

Free Shipping!!! Dismiss


Your Cart