• action-tomac



Published August 27th, 2014

This week the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross championships stopped at Miller Motosports Park in Tooele, Utah for the final round of the series. Trey Canard dominated Utah to earn his first overall win of the season. Ken Roczen was able to minimize the damage at Utah to claim his first ever National Championship.

As the gate dropped on Moto one, it was the Honda spoilers who led the pack into turn one. It was the forty-one of Trey Canard that captured the Motosport.com holeshot award, followed by Oakley Bomb winner Eli Tomac. Championship contenders, Ken Roczen and Ryan Dungey were on the move, both making their way by Tomac with sights set on Canard.

Roczen looked eager to make the move on Canard early, but Canard managed to hold him off and put some time between himself and Roczen.

As the Moto passed the halfway point Dungey had begun to close on Roczen, with Tomac also closing from behind. In the closing ten minutes of the Moto, Roczen managed to barely avoid a tangle with a lapper to hold onto the lead.

With only three minutes remaining on the clock, Roczen was able to fend off multiple attacks, but Dungey still managed to get by. Roczen was able to get by in some lapped traffic. Left with only a lap and a half to go, Dungey put the pressure on Roczen and managed to make his way by Roczen, taking over second position.

Trey Canard claimed the Moto one win; with over a ten second lead on the two championship contenders. Ryan Dungey managed to hold onto second position to pick up two points on Roczen in the championship points chase. Roczen rode a strong and smart Moto, taking third position in Moto one.

Heading into Moto two, with the championship still up for grabs, it was Trey Canard who captured the Motosport.com holeshot award. In the early laps of the Moto, Roczen pushed to make the pass on the number forty-one of Trey Canard.

Dungey was able to make his way into third in a hurry and managed to make the pass on Roczen for second position.

Although Tomac was able to get by Roczen, it wasn’t enough for Dungey to close the points gap in the championship points chase.

The young German rode his way to the 2014 Lucas Oil Pro Motocorss premiere class Championship at Tooele, Utah. In his rookie season in the 450 class Ken Roczen took his first ever national championship.

After years of injuries, it was also an extremely rewarding day for the number forty-one of Trey Canard, who took home his first overall win of the season. Canard claimed third overall in the championship points chase.

Dungey was able to take second in Moto two for second overall on the day, and second overall in the championship.

Tomac’s 4-3 was good enough to edge Roczen off the podium at Utah and take third overall for the day.

In the 250 class, it was Cooper Webb who managed to capture the Motosport.com holeshot award. It was the Star Racing Yamalube Yamaha’s of Cooper Webb and Jeremy Martin, that ran in the number one and two spots, once again.

Jeremy Martin was able to get by Webb, claiming the win in Moto one. Cooper Webb finished out Moto one in second position, just in front of Kawasaki’s Blake Baggett in third.

In Moto two, it was Jeremy Martin who dominated, as he dominates the entire series.

It was the battle between the Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki teammates that kept the fans on their feet. Bagget was able to get around Wilson on the inside, taking over sixth position.

Bagget was able to make his way into third position by the end of the Moto to pick up a few points on Webb and claim second position in the championship. Webb went 2-4 to claim third overall at Utah and third position in the championships. Jeremy Martin topped off his championship-winning season with another 1-1 overall at Utah.

As the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross series has come to a close, race fans be sure to check back for more info on the Monster Energy Cup coming soon and the kick off to Supercross 2015!

1. Trey Canard (1-1)
2. Ryan Dungey (2-2)
3. Eli Tomac (4-3)
4. Ken Roczen (3-4)
5. Brett Metcalfe (7-5)
6. Ryan Sipes (9-6)
7. Andrew Short (6-13)
8. Fredrik Noren (10-9)
9. Weston Peick (13-7)
10. Justin Brayton (12-8)

1. Jeremy Martin (1-1)
2. Blake Baggett (3-3)
3. Copper Webb (2-4)
4. Justin Bogle (6-2)
5. Marvin Musquin (4-5)
6. Chris Aldredge (5-8)
7. Joey Savatgy (8-7)
8. Dean Wilson (10-6)
9. Zach Osborne (7-9)
10. RJ Hampshire (9-11)

1. Ken Roczen – 532
2. Ryan Dungey – 518
3. Trey Canard – 468
4. Brett Metcalfe – 334
5. Eli Tomac – 319
6. Andrew Short – 302
7. Weston Peick – 290
8. Josh Grant – 259
9. James Stewart – 226
10. Fredrik Noren – 207

1. Jeremy Martin – 500
2. Blake Baggett – 421
3. Cooper Webb – 419
4. Marvin Musquin – 408
5. Justin Bogle – 368
6. Christophe Pourcel – 355
7. Jason Anderson – 276
8. Cole Seely – 260
9. Jessy Nelson – 252
10. Dean Wilson – 230